Courting Cate
8%
off

Courting Cate

4.09 (3,307 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

#1 Bestselling Author Leslie Gould Delivers a New Amish Romance Series When Amish farmer Pete Treger moves to Paradise Township, Pennsylvania, seeking a better life, he meets sisters Cate and Betsy Miller. Both are beautiful, but older sister Cate is known more for her sharp tongue and fiery temper than her striking appearance. Betsy, on the other hand, is sweet and flirty--and seems to have attracted most of the bachelors in Lancaster County! However, the sisters' wealthy father has made one hard and fast rule: elder sister must marry first, before the younger can even start courting. Unfortunately for poor Betsy, and for the men who want to court her, her older sister, Cate, doesn't have any suitors--until Pete comes to town, that is. Though he finds both sisters attractive, something about Cate's feisty demeanor appeals to him. Soon the other bachelors in the district convince Pete to court Cate. She hardly seems receptive to his overtures, though. Instead, she's immediately suspicious of his interest.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 142.24 x 213.36 x 25.4mm | 317.51g
  • Baker Publishing Group
  • Bethany House Publishers, a division of Baker Publishing Group
  • Ada, MI, United States
  • English
  • black & white illustrations
  • 0764210319
  • 9780764210310
  • 873,612

About Lesslie Gould

Leslie Gould is the coauthor, with Mindy Starns Clark, of the #1 bestselling The Amish Midwife and The Amish Nanny. She is also the author of numerous novels, including Garden of Dreams, Beyond the Blue (winner of the Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice for Best Inspirational Novel, 2006), and Scrap Everything. She holds an MFA in creative writing from Portland State University and has taught fiction writing at Multnomah University as an adjunct professor. She resides with her husband and four children in Portland, Oregon. Learn more at www.lesliegould.com.show more

Back cover copy

"Leslie Gould's gift for creating compelling characters never ceases to amaze and delight! She raises the bar with every book she writes."--Mindy Starns Clark, bestselling author of Echoes of Titanic and The House That Cleans Itself When This Couple Gets to Courting, Sparks Will Fly! In Paradise, Pennsylvania, Cate Miller is known more for her sharp tongue and fiery temper than her striking appearance. Her sweet and flirty sister, Betsy, on the other hand, seems to have attracted most of the bachelors in Lancaster County! But the sisters' wealthy father has made one hard-and-fast rule: older Cate must marry first, before younger Betsy can even start courting. Unfortunately, untamable Cate has driven away every suitor--until Pete Treger comes to town, that is. Prodded by the men of the area, Pete turns his attention to winning Cate's hand. But is his interest true or is there a scheme at play? Leslie Gould is the coauthor of the #1 bestselling The Amish Midwife, winner of the 2012 Christy Award for Contemporary Series. She holds an MFA in creative writing from Portland State University and resides with her husband and four children in Portland, Oregon. Visit her online on Facebook or at LeslieGould.com. "Gould creates a delightful story, offering engaging characters and a page-turning plot. Gould's Courting Cate--the first book in the series titled 'The Courtships of Lancaster County' --is a standout read in Amish fiction."--CBA Retailers & Resources "[A] clever take on Shakespeare's The Taming of the Shrew ... Gould is a fabulous writer in her own right. This charming series debut should appeal to fans of Beverly Lewis and Marta Perry."-Library Journalshow more

Rating details

3,307 ratings
4.09 out of 5 stars
5 41% (1,357)
4 35% (1,155)
3 18% (598)
2 4% (141)
1 2% (56)

Our customer reviews

I have read plenty of Amish romances and fiction in recent times, and I generally love them and award them a 5-star rating with absolutely no trouble. Well, let me tell you something. This is by far one of the best Amish romance I have ever read! It was so different from the others I have read, and in a good way, too! I was drawn into the book from the very beginning, and at times, I was so into the book that I forgot where I was! This is a unique Amish story. I don't want to give away any spoilers, but it will definitely keep you guessing at every turn. While you can count on an ending being something you will enjoy, the journey is full of suspense at times. There were times I just wanted to shake some sense into Cate or slap Pete upside the head, I was fully engaged in the story at all times. I love the way the spiritual elements are seamlessly woven into the story line. I always find that Amish fiction is consistently the best at accomplishing this. Even if the people walk away from God, they always seem to come back. And you will see that in Cate, and I found it very inspiring. And God works in the lives of everyone else as well, and by the end of the book, everyone is serving God! If you like Amish fiction and/or clean romances, this is definitely the book for you! I can't recommend it highly enough.show more
by Ruth Hill
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X