The Corvidian Trilogy

The Corvidian Trilogy : I Battleground

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas


Fleetingly and yet ever presently, the Phantom stands larger than life between the Crow and the Master Within, his savior. Before he can reach the Master, he must first rid his inner-realm of the Phantom; before he can conquer the Phantom, a lifetime of fear, negativity, and false illusions wrapped in danger and adventure must be undone; before these changes can take place, the truth of self-knowledge must first set the crow free. Bring it On! The Corvidian Trilogy deals with the evolution of the individual from self-negation to exalted levels of consciousness where love of self provides the balance between love of neighbor and love of God. I-Battleground presents the predicament that the crow was born into, as well as, his travels throughout his inner universe. He learns that there is a master in his heart and that a phantom also resides within himself that claims the whole terrain as his own. This phantom stands between his consciousness and the Master and causes him to embrace self-destructive behavior. The Crow makes it his mission to meet and be guided by the Master. "The novel forces consideration of our slightest assumptions. It permits the analysis of behaviors and challenges our persistence of attitudes diseased with cynicism. Through the remaining Crow society, we visualized how their beliefs wreak havoc, weakening all connected with it. This degenerative state is only challenged by the spirituality which characterizes Crow's inversion. It is precisely this aura which guides our hero and the reader into the acceptance of that which is good for all. This work is a must-read for anyone sold on the concept of personal growth as the beginning to community development." Dr. Dolly Mullen, Political Science The University of North Carolina at Asheville (2004)show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 250 pages
  • 133 x 203 x 13mm | 259g
  • Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • English
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 1508767467
  • 9781508767466

About Joanne Mary McKnight

Divine guidance is so often given line-on-line and precept-upon-precept. The taking of one step requires a measure of faith when the fullness of the journey is hidden from sight. So it is with the Corvidian Trilogy. The journey began in 1981 with an epic poem called The Inverted Crow which I wrote for my brother. Thomas has cerebral palsy and I wanted him to see wholeness is as a matter of spirit and to look beyond his tangible finite condition and find his exquisitely complete self, the essence of his being. After the gift was given, I kept receiving insight into the character and life of this crow. Instead of ceasing in time, these whisperings escalated. The nights became full of Technicolor dreams about the story. It was as if The Inverted Crow was a concept in search of an author. I considered myself a playwright at the time and so this whole notion of writing novels was a hard sell. Eventually, I yielded, awaking in the middle of the night I submitted out loud, "Ok, God! I'll write your book!" It felt as if my room was crowded in that moment with the unseen and the hosts around me exploded in joy. This work was written across several decades of my life. The crow wouldn't let me go and neither could I turn it loose until it was done. And so, we simply inch wormed along together, this crow and I, in-between life stages - marriage, divorce, near-death experience, adopting and raising a child as a single parent, and making a living writing extensively in other genres from playwriting to proposal writing, as well as, working as a researcher. Through it all, I stole moments to work on the crow as it cyclically demanded attention. In June of 2012, I retired from higher education early to concentrate on writing. The Inverted Crow had grown from one book to three and by the end of 2013, the working title of the series shifted to The Corvidian Trilogy. The three novels were simply named: I - Battleground, II - Expeditions and III - Victory. JoAnne Mary McKnight Ms. McKnight holds a BFA in Playwriting from Howard University. For nearly a decade after graduation, she worked as a resident playwright in the Washington, DC market for Ebony Impromptu Theater and The New Theater School of Washington. These back-to-back engagements allowed Ms. McKnight the joy of seeing her work produced in community, University, and professional venues. The three books in the Corvidian Trilogy are her first more