The Coral Thief

The Coral Thief

3.22 (1,815 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 9-14 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

A powerful and gripping historical thriller for fans of The Essex Serpernt and The Miniaturist.

'Original and evocative ... a mesmerising thriller' Daily Telegraph
'Full of twists and turns' Scotsman
'An enthralling exploration of revolutionary science in post-revolutionary France' Guardian
'A book of penetrating humanity and a vivid evocation of Paris' Financial Times

Paris, 1815. Daniel Connor, a young medical student from Edinburgh, has just arrived in Paris to study anatomy at the Jardin des Plantes - only to realise that his letters of introduction and a gift of precious coral specimens, on which his tenure depends, have been stolen by the beautiful woman with whom he shared a stagecoach.

In the fervour and tumult of post revolutionary Paris, nothing is quite as it seems. In trying to recover his lost valuables, Daniel discovers that his beautiful adversary is in fact a philosopher-thief who lives in a shadowy world of outlaws and emigres. As Daniel embark on a passionate love affair with the Coral Thief, he is drawn to join her salon of thieves to execute one last breathtakingly bold robbery...
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 256 pages
  • 131 x 198 x 19mm | 220g
  • Weidenfeld & Nicolson
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0753827107
  • 9780753827109
  • 412,626

Review Text

Combines theories of evolution with the intrigue of an old-fashioned thriller...Clever and thought-provoking. LONDON METRO
show more

Review quote

Combines theories of evolution with the intrigue of an old-fashioned thriller...Clever and thought-provoking. * LONDON METRO * An utterly gripping, fascinating read. * SUGAR * Original and evocative, this thriller set in 19th-century Paris deftly weaves together history and science. * DAILY TELEGRAPH * Keenly researched, lovingly decorated, brimming with ideas but never short on character or charm -- Boyd Tonkin * INDEPENDENT * This book, like the coral that Daniel was originally carrying, is a rare and fascinating specimen. * TIMES * It makes for an entertaining narrative as Lucienne's band of well-spoken rogues duck and dive to avoid Jagot, the head of police. * GUARDIAN * An original and enthralling read. * BIG ISSUE IN THE NORTH * A riveting read * SUNDAY BUSINESS POST, Ireland *
show more

About Rebecca Stott

Rebecca Stott is a writer and broadcaster. She writes both fiction and non-fiction, is affiliated to the Cambridge history of science department and is Professor of English Literature and Creative Writing at UEA. Her work, in radio writing, fiction and non-fiction, weaves together history, literature and the history of science. She is the author of the non-fiction book DARWIN AND THE BARNACLE and the novel GHOSTWALK.
show more

Rating details

1,815 ratings
3.22 out of 5 stars
5 9% (169)
4 29% (534)
3 40% (717)
2 17% (312)
1 5% (83)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X