Conspiracy of Kings
25%
off

Conspiracy of Kings

4.07 (13,691 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Discover the world of the Queen's Thief New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. The New York Times bestseller A Conspiracy of Kings won the Los Angeles Times Book Award and is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin. After an attempted assassination and kidnapping, Sophos, heir to the throne of Sounis, disappears. Those who care for him--including the thief Eugenides and the Queen of Eddis--are left to wonder if he is alive and if they will ever see him again. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans and have been honored with glowing reviews, "best of" citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, A Conspiracy of Kings, and Thick as Thieves, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief. Winner of the LA Times Book Award A New York Times Bestseller A Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor Book A School Library Journal Best Book "The Queen's Thief books awe and inspire me. They have the feel of a secret, discovered history of real but forgotten lands. The plot-craft is peerless, the revelations stunning, and the characters flawed, cunning, heartbreaking, exceptional. Megan Whalen Turner's books have a permanent spot on my favorites shelf, with space waiting for more books to come."--Laini Taylor, New York Times-bestselling author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone novels and Strange the Dreamer "Unforgettable characters, plot twists that will make your head spin, a world rendered in elegant detail--you will fall in love with every page of these stories. Megan Whalen Turner writes vivid, immersive, heartbreaking fantasy that will leave you desperate to return to Attolia again and again."--Leigh Bardugo, New York Times-bestselling author of The Grisha Trilogy and Six of Crows "Megan Whalen Turner is one of my all-time favorite writers . . . impossible to put down."--Holly Black, award-winning and New York Times-bestselling author of the Modern Faerie Tale series and The Darkest Part of the Forest "Romance, intrigue, mystery, surprises, and sheer beautiful writing."--Cassandra Clare, award-winning and New York Times-bestselling author of The Mortal Instruments and Lady Midnight "The world Turner creates is so tangible that not only do I believe in its characters, I almost believe in its gods."--Kristin Cashore, award-winning and New York Times-bestselling author of the Graceling Realm series "A Conspiracy of Kings brings the sweetest, sharpest kind of reading pleasure. Megan Whalen Turner's books are pure joy."--Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medalist and New York Times-bestselling author of When You Reach Me and Goodbye Strangershow more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 336 pages
  • 144.78 x 210.82 x 33.02mm | 408.23g
  • Greenwillow Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0061870935
  • 9780061870934
  • 165,822

Review quote

A fascinating and beautifully crafted masterpiece. --Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) (Starred Review)"show more

Back cover copy

Sophos, under the guidance of yet another tutor, practices his swordplay and strategizes escape scenarios should his father's villa come under attack. How would he save his mother? His sisters? Himself? Could he reach the horses in time? Where would he go? But nothing prepares him for the day armed men, silent as thieves, swarm the villa courtyard ready to kill, to capture, to kidnap. Sophos, the heir to the throne of Sounis, disappears without a trace. In Attolia, Eugenides, the new and unlikely king, has never stopped wondering what happened to Sophos. Nor has the Queen of Eddis. They send spies. They pay informants. They appeal to the gods. But as time goes by, it becomes less and less certain that they will ever see their friend alive again. Across the small peninsula battles are fought, bribes are offered, and conspiracies are set in motion. Darkening the horizon, the Mede Empire threatens, always, from across the sea. And Sophos, anonymous and alone, bides his time. Sophos, drawing on his memories of Gen, Pol, the magus--and Eddis--sets out on an Badventure that will change all of their lives forever.show more

Rating details

13,691 ratings
4.07 out of 5 stars
5 36% (4,904)
4 41% (5,596)
3 19% (2,667)
2 3% (422)
1 1% (102)

Our customer reviews

Followers of Turner's Attolia series will have wondered what became of young Sophos, the heir to Sounis' throne, whose mysterious disappearance was mentioned in books but never resolved. A CONSPIRACY OF KINGS will answer all their questions, while offering even more. Never interested in ruling or the skills of leadership, Sophos has grudgingly followed his tutors' lessons and then lost himself in the books he prefers. But when his family is attacked and he himself kidnapped and sold as a slave, he finds himself questioning exactly what sort of man he wants to be. Political schemes abound, from the quarreling barons of Sounis to the unscrupulous interest of the Medes, all of whom want to take control of Sophos in their own version of slavery. But who can Sophos turn to for help, when he's unsure he can even trust his old friend, Gen, now King of Attolia? A CONSPIRACY OF KINGS offers all the political intrigue and clever plotting of the previous Attolia books, and fans will easily devour it in one sitting. Turner's quick pacing and twisting storylines keep readers on their toes and make the book often impossible to put down. While Sophos is perhaps not as intriguing a main character as Eugendies, he has more to him than even he initially suspects, and by the end proves himself worthy of having a book devoted to him. The transitions between his first-person narration and the more distant third-person portions of the book felt somewhat awkward, but as you get sucked into the story, that's easy to forgive. Recommended to all who enjoy fantasy, though readers will get the most out of this book if they read the previous three titles in THE QUEEN'S THIEF series first.show more
by TeensReadToo
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X