Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke : an epic tale of secrets and survival

4.04 (2,669 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$13.89

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

The gripping sequel to Prisoner of Night and Fog. The epic tale of one young woman racing to save the man she loves during one of history's darkest hours. For fans of The Book Thief and Beneath a Scarlet Sky.'

'It's terrifying and incredible to think how much of this story is true' Elizabeth Wein, author of Code Name Verity on Prisoner of Night and Fog

Gretchen Muller has three rules for her new life:

1. Blend into the surroundings
2. Don't tell anyone who you really are
3. Never, ever go back to Germany

Gretchen Whitestone has a secret: she used to be part of Adolf Hitler's inner circle. When she made an enemy of her former friends, she fled Munich for Oxford with her love, Daniel Cohen. But then a telegram calls Daniel back to Germany, and Gretchen's world turns upside down when he is accused of murder.

To save Daniel, Gretchen must return to her homeland and somehow avoid capture by the Nazi elite. As they work to clear Daniel's name, they discover a deadly conspiracy stretching from the slums of Berlin to the Reichstag itself. Can they dig up the explosive truth and escape in time - or will Hitler find them first?
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 131 x 195 x 25mm | 264g
  • Headline Book Publishing
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1472207874
  • 9781472207876
  • 161,732

Review quote

Suspenseful and clever, intertwining historical truth with action-packed shootouts * Kirkus Reviews * The book's meld of romance, action, and thriller is utterly convincing... a heady sweep of truth and fiction. The mystery, revolving around Goering and a mistress he might have killed, twists effectively, ramping up to a real-life historical conspiracy * Booklist * I'm in awed envy of the daring with which Anne Blankman plunges into her difficult and sensitive subject matter. To read Prisoner of Night and Fog is to be immersed in a breathtaking evocation of Munich in the 1930s, where life is ordinary and skin-crawling by turns, and in the painful, hopeful story of one young girl's awakening conscience. It's terrifying and incredible to think how much of this story is true -- Elizabeth Wein, author of CODENAME VERITY A tremendously cleverly constructed and terrifically compelling story that puts you right back into History - I read this one obsessively and felt every single moment * www.lizlovesbooks.com * I haven't liked a historical fiction novel quite this much since Elizabeth Wein's Rose Under Fire. Prisoner of Night and Fog is completely absorbing. It's well-written and clever, and the sort of book that lingers in your thoughts well after the final pages * www.realmoffiction.blogspot.co.uk * Completely engrossing * Publishers Weekly (starred review) *
show more

About Anne Blankman

Anne Blankman was born in upstate New York and studied at Union College, during which time she did an exchange in York, England - a place she's always dreamed of returning to. She has since worked as a youth services librarian. The idea for her debut novel, Prisoner of Night and Fog, came to her after she learned about Hitler's beloved half niece who shared his luxurious Munich flat. Anne began wondering what it would have been like to be a young girl growing up within the Nazi elite's inner circle - and if it would have been possible to break free from it. This is the follow-up to that book. You can visit her online at www.anneblankman.com
show more

Rating details

2,669 ratings
4.04 out of 5 stars
5 34% (903)
4 42% (1,112)
3 20% (532)
2 4% (100)
1 1% (22)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X