Confessions of a So-called Middle Child

Confessions of a So-called Middle Child

3.86 (241 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Meet Charlie C. Cooper, reformed bully, misguided fashionista, and so-called middle child! Fans of Louise Rennison, Harriet the Spy, and Mean Girls will cheer when they meet her. This fresh tween coming-of-age story is an honest look at bullying and the obstacles of middle school from talented screenwriter Maria T. Lennon. Extras in the back of the paperback offer tidbits about famous middle children (including Abraham Lincoln and Madonna) and a special interview with heroine Charlie herself.Both seriously funny and poignant, this story follows the hilarious Charlie as she tries to fit in at her new school in Los Angeles. As a middle child, she knows what it feels like to be overlooked. To get attention, she resorts to becoming a prankster, which leads to big trouble. So her therapist gives her a seventh-grade mission-she must turn over a new leaf, find the most bullied girl at her school ("Marta the Farta"), and become her friend.Charlie faces down the mean girls and decides between right and wrong once and for all. And she does it all in turquoise Doc Martens boots! As Charlie learns to help Marta, she uncovers the meaning of true friendship and impresses new crush Bobby along the way.
show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 128 x 190 x 20mm | 200g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • International ed.
  • 0062126911
  • 9780062126917
  • 524,455

Back cover copy

People, what you're holding in your greasy little hands is my manifesto, my confessions, written for all you misunderstood middle kids out there who have no room to shine. Yep, when you're sandwiched between an overachieving older sister and a too-cute-for-his-own-good younger brother, how can you ever win, right?

I never really thought of myself as a "middle child." Gifted computer hacker? Check. Fashion trailblazer? Double check. Finest prankster in my sixth-grade class? Triple check.

But then things got messy. You see, I did something really bad. Bad enough to get expelled for. Even bad enough to be sent to a shrink for. But by the end of the summer, I was a changed woman. The day before my brand-new middle-school life was to start, he gave me a mission:

I had to find the most bullied, friendless, hopeless, laughed at, lonely girl in the entire school and be her friend. In public. Just kill me now, please.
show more

About Maria T. Lennon

Maria T. Lennon is a graduate of the London School of Economics, a novelist, a screenwriter, and the author of Confessions of a So-called Middle Child. She lives in Los Angeles with her family. Charlie visits frequently.
show more

Rating details

241 ratings
3.86 out of 5 stars
5 31% (75)
4 36% (86)
3 25% (61)
2 4% (10)
1 4% (9)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X