The Concubine's Child
19%
off

The Concubine's Child

4.07 (131 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

An evocative, multi-generational tale of a family haunted by the death of a young concubine. For fans of Dinah Jefferies and Amy Tan. In 1930s Malaya a sixteen-year-old girl, dreaming of marriage to her sweetheart, is sold as a concubine to a rich old man desperate for an heir. Trapped, and bullied by his spiteful wife, Yu Lan plans to escape with her baby son, despite knowing that they will pursue her to the ends of the earth.

Four generations later, her great-grandson, Nick, will return to Malaysia, looking for the truth behind the facade of a house cursed by the unhappy past. Nothing can prepare him for what he will find.

This exquisitely rich novel brings to life a vanished world - a world of abandoned ghost houses, inquisitive monkeys, smoky temples and a panoply of gods and demons. A world where a poor girl can be sold to fulfil a rich man's dream. But though he can buy her body, he can never capture her soul, nor quench her spirit.

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING:

'Compelling, atmospheric and emotional'

'Well-written, compelling ... A tale of duty, treachery, misery and superstition'

'Wonderfully drawn characters, searing emotion, powerful intensity and nail-biting drama'.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 145 x 228 x 35.56mm | 598.74g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1786699818
  • 9781786699817
  • 1,573,070

About Carol Jones

Born in Brisbane, Australia, Carol Jones taught English and Drama at secondary schools before working as an editor of children's magazines. She is the author of several young adult novels as well as children's non-fiction.
show more

Rating details

131 ratings
4.07 out of 5 stars
5 37% (49)
4 37% (49)
3 21% (27)
2 5% (6)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X