Concentr8
44%
off

Concentr8

2.97 (396 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 9-12 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

In a future London, Concentr8 is a prescription drug intended to help kids with ADD. Soon every troubled teen is on it. It makes sense, doesn't it? Keep the undesirable elements in line. Keep people like us safe from people like them. What's good for society is good for everyone.

Troy, Femi, Lee, Karen and Blaze have been taking Concentr8 as long as they can remember. They're not exactly a gang, but Blaze is their leader, and Troy has always been his quiet, watchful sidekick - the only one Blaze really trusts. They're not looking for trouble, but one hot summer day, when riots break out across the city, they find it.

What makes five kids pick a man seemingly at random - a nobody, he works in the housing department, doesn't even have a good phone - hold a knife to his side, take him to a warehouse and chain him to a radiator? They've got a hostage, but don't really know what they want, or why they've done it. And across the course of six tense days, with a journalist, a floppy-haired mayor, a police negotiator, and the sinister face of the pharmaceutical industry, they - and we - begin to understand why ...

This is a book about what how we label young people. It's about how people get lost and failed by the system. It's about how politicians manipulate them. Gripping and controversial reading for fans of Malorie Blackman and Patrick Ness.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 256 pages
  • 135 x 216 x 30mm | 289g
  • Bloomsbury Childrens Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 9781408866238
  • 646,439

About William Sutcliffe

William Sutcliffe is the author of thirteen novels, including the international bestseller Are You Experienced? and The Wall, which was shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal. He has written for adults, young adults and children, and has been translated into 28 languages. His 2008 novel Whatever Makes You Happy is now a Netflix Original film starring Patricia Arquette and Angela Bassett. It was released under the title Otherhood.

His first funny novel for teenagers, The Gifted, the Talented and Me, was described by The Times as 'dangerously funny' and by the Guardian as 'refreshingly hilarious'. It was shortlisted for the YA Book Prize 2020 and was the Sunday Times Children's Book of the Year 2019.
show more

Rating details

396 ratings
2.97 out of 5 stars
5 8% (31)
4 23% (93)
3 37% (145)
2 22% (87)
1 10% (40)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X