Comma Sense

Comma Sense

4 (1 rating by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Guide for Grammar, Voice, and Sentence Structure

"If you're going to have one grammar book on your shelf, make it this one!" -Dani Alcorn, COO at Writing Academy and cofounder of Writer's Secret Sauce

#1 New Release in Writing, Research & Publishing Guides, Composition and Language, Grammar Reference, Semantics, Vocabulary Books, Study & Teaching Reference, Reading Skills, and editing

Comma Sense by Ellen Feld is a style guide for all things grammar. Learn the rules of adverbs, punctuation, abbreviations, prepositions, and much more. Feld shows you how to write technically, professionally, and personally.


Grammar for everyone. Master English grammar with Ellen Feld. Comma Sense goes above and beyond the average grammar book. Professional writers, students, novices, and experts can benefit from learning or relearning the basics of grammar and beyond: em dashes, parentheticals and parallelism, diction and logic, run-on sentences and sentence fragments, and more. Become a master of capitalization and punctuation, subjects and predicates, and contractions and possessives.


Test Your Knowledge. After every chapter, take a quiz to practice your new grammatical skills in this great grammar workbook. At the end of the book, a comprehensive test allows you to utilize all you have learned.


Inside, you'll find:




The basics of grammar and beyond
Tips for better writing
Terrific supplementary resources



Readers who enjoyed The Elements of Style; Actually, the Comma Goes Here; The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation; or The Perfect English Grammar Workbook will love Comma Sense: A Guide to Grammar Victory. Workbook will love Comma Sense: Your Guide to Grammar Victory.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 212.09 x 151.89 x 20.07mm | 385.55g
  • FL, United States
  • English
  • No
  • 1642507253
  • 9781642507256
  • 969,971

Table of contents

Table of Contents
Learning Goals

Chapter 1: Parts of Speech

Chapter 2: Mixed-up Words

Chapter 3: Contractions and Possessives

Chapter 4: Subjects and Predicates

Chapter 5: Sentence Fragments

Chapter 6: Run-on Sentences

Chapter 7: Standard Verb Forms

Chapter 8: Pronouns

Chapter 9: Agreement

Chapter 10: Shifts in Person, Tense, and Structure

Chapter 11: Clarity, Concision, Diction, and Logic

Chapter 12: Capitalization and Punctuation

Resources

Index
show more

Review quote

"I first learned of Ellen Feld's impeccable command of all things grammatical when she was one of the wisest hires I ever made as the editor-in-chief of a business newspaper in New York City. More than three decades later I am thrilled-and yes, even still enlightened-to read her guide to the grammatical arts. I am, as well, delightedly entertained by her in the process. Comma Sense (the artfulness of that pun cum apt observation is typical of her) is a downright treasure of a book for all who write, read, or speak the English language."

-Robert Olen Butler, author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain



"Writing a simple memo is essential to success in the business world. So it's astonishing how many college and professional school graduates can't structure a simple sentence. As someone who's corrected many a colleague's work, I fervently hope Ellen Feld's easy-to-read book will sit on many office desks. Its clear style and simple format make it an excellent reference. But I also hope that some enterprising grade school teachers will assign this to their classes. It's so accessible, it could be an antidote to the American epidemic of graduating students who can't write."

-Dana Miller Ervin, former journalist for ABC and CBS News



"If you really want to go deep into the 'how' and 'why' of grammar, then Comma Sense is for you. Ellen covers the basics like a pro and delivers practical examples to help you learn. You'll never mess up 'lie' and 'lay' again!"

-Lisa Lepki, CMO at ProWritingAid



"Sadly neglected in public school education, grammar has become something that's winged even by the most educated. What's needed is a guidebook, and Ellen Feld has given us one, written by a writer, educator, and editor who knows the rules and communicates them with panache and an exemplary prose style. You'll actually enjoy learning English grammar while reading Comma Sense. And you may pick up a little something extra along the way."

-Rick Mullin, senior editor of Chemical & Engineering News



"If you're going to have one grammar book on your shelf, make it this one! Ellen's explanations are clear, concise, and will get you writing or revising with confidence and zeal."

-Dani Alcorn, COO at Writing Academy and cofounder of Writer's Secret Sauce



"Everything you need to know about grammar in less than 300 pages! If you write for a living, have dreams of becoming a proofreader, or just want to enhance your communication skills, Comma Sense is the book for you. As an editor, I've read countless grammar books, but Comma Sense is hands down my favorite. Ellen's book is full of fun, easy-to-understand examples and quizzes to test what you've learned. Who doesn't love a quiz? Don't let this book out of your sight, because you're going to want to have it just within reach whenever you have a tricky grammar question!"

-Catherine Turner, editor and owner of Turner Proofreading



"In her new book, Comma Sense, Ellen Sue Feld demystifies grammar with clarity, conciseness, and empathy."

-Anu Garg, author and founder of Wordsmith.org
show more

About Ellen Feld

Ellen's interest in grammar ignited way back in 1980, when she started teaching developmental writing at the College of Staten Island (CUNY). Quickly realizing how much she didn't know, she studied the student textbook, learned and loved the language of grammar, and brought it into play in the classroom. Through the decades, Ellen has worn a variety of editorial hats, including newspaper reporter and copy chief, personal essayist, website reviewer, and developmental editor. She is the creator/instructor of online grammar refresher courses with more than 45,000 enrolled learners, the author of the children's storybook Paragon and Jubilee, and the inventor/maker of a humane dog-training harness. As a dedicated vegan, Ellen uses no animal products in the many food-based grammar examples you'll find in this book.
show more

Rating details

1 rating
4 out of 5 stars
5 0% (0)
4 100% (1)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X