Comfort Me With Apples
20%
off

Comfort Me With Apples

3.64 (10,417 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-9 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Comfort Me With Apples is a terrifying new thriller from bestseller Catherynne M. Valente, for fans of Gone Girl and Spinning Silver

Sophia was made for him. Her perfect husband. She can feel it in her bones. He is perfect. Their home together in Arcadia Gardens is perfect. Everything is perfect.

It's just that he's away so much. So often. He works so hard. She misses him. And he misses her. He says he does, so it must be true. He is the perfect husband and everything is perfect.

But sometimes Sophia wonders about things. Strange things. Dark things. The look on her husband's face when he comes back from a long business trip. The questions he will not answer. The locked basement she is never allowed to enter. And whenever she asks the neighbors, they can't quite meet her gaze....

But everything is perfect. Isn't it?
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 112 pages
  • 136 x 211 x 17mm | 196g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250816211
  • 9781250816214
  • 84,631

Review quote

Praise for Comfort Me With Apples

"No one can move from sweet whimsy to bone-deep dread with the deftness of Catherynne M. Valente. Comfort Me With Apples is a darkly elegant fairytale-horror story that will haunt you in the best ways. Move it to the top of your TBR." --Christopher Golden, New York Times bestselling author

"A lush and furious fairytale. Valente always delivers." --Laurie Penny, screenwriter for The Haunting of Bly Manor and author of Everything Belongs to the Future

"I just about melted into the story, and someone will have to comb through Valente's exquisite prose to fish out my skeleton because I was wholly lost in the tale. It was so clever, so nefarious, so, well, Valente. To me, she's Angela Carter with knives for teeth." --Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author

"Comfort Me With Apples is a furious and tantalizingly crooked domestic mystery, as slim and sharp as a needle." --Melissa Albert, bestselling author of The Hazel Wood

"Valente's prose is crystalline as always: airy, beautiful, perfect as Sophia herself. But under all that beauty, there is an open wound bleeding so much rage. Comfort Me With Apples is the first book in a long time that has managed to surprise me: an experience both cathartic and unforgettable." --Cassandra Khaw, award-winning author
show more

About Catherynne M. Valente

Catherynne M. Valente is the New York Times bestselling author of over two dozen works of fiction and poetry, including Palimpsest, the Orphan's Tales series, Deathless, Radiance, and the crowdfunded phenomenon The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (and the four books that followed it). She is the winner of the Andre Norton, Tiptree, Sturgeon, Eugie Foster Memorial, Mythopoeic, Rhysling, Lambda, Locus, and Hugo awards, as well as the Prix Imaginales. Valente has also been a finalist for the Nebula and World Fantasy Awards. She lives on an island off the coast of Maine with a small but growing menagerie of beasts, some of which are human.

Find out more on her website and on Twitter!
show more

Rating details

10,417 ratings
3.64 out of 5 stars
5 23% (2,433)
4 36% (3,742)
3 26% (2,747)
2 10% (1,079)
1 4% (416)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X