Collective Violence in Indonesia

Collective Violence in Indonesia

Edited by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


Since the end of Suharto's so-called New Order (1966-1998) in Indonesia and the eruption of vicious group violence, a number of questions have engaged the minds of scholars and other observers. How widespread is the group violence? What forms - ethnic, religious, economic - has it primarily taken? Have the clashes of the post-Suharto years been significantly more widespread, or worse, than those of the late New Order? The authors of ""Collective Violence in Indonesia"" trenchantly address these questions, shedding new light on trends in the country and assessing how they compare with broad patterns identified in Asia and Africa. This title explores the nature of group violence in contemporary Indonesia and how it compares with the larger patterns identified in Asia and Africa.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 180 pages
  • 156 x 232 x 18mm | 480.81g
  • Lynne Rienner Publishers Inc
  • Boulder, CO, United States
  • English
  • Illustrations, maps
  • 1588266877
  • 9781588266873
  • 1,939,009

Table of contents

Analyzing Collective Violence in Indonesia: An Overview - A. Varshney. Patterns of Collective Violence in Indonesia - A. Varshney, M.Z. Tadjoeddin, and R. Panggabean. Local Conflict in Post-Suharto Indonesia: What Local Newspapers Tell Us - P. Barron and J. Sharpe. Ethnic Conflicts in Indonesia: National Models, Critical Junctures, and the Timing of Violence - J. Bertrand. Explaining Ethnic Violence in Indonesia: Demilitarizing Domestic Security - Y. Tajima. Local and National: Lynch Mobs in Indonesia - B. Welsh. Final Reflections: Looking Back, Moving Forward - P. Barron, S. Jaffreu, B. Palmer, and A. Varshney.
show more

About Ashutosh Varshney

Ashutosh Varshney is professor of political science at Brown University. His book Ethnic Conflict and Civic Life: Hindus and Muslims in India was awarded the Gregory Luebbert Prize of the American Political Science Association.
show more