The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge

The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge

3.98 (1,033 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 15-20 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.


Vernor Vinge may be the most brilliant science fiction writer of the past 20 years, most recently earning two Hugo Awards for his novels A Fire Upon the Deep (1992) and A Deepness in the Sky (1999). His earlier ground-breaking works, such as True Names (1981) and Marooned in Realtime (1986), won him a wide readership. Now Vinge presents a feast of great SF sure to delight. From his earliest stories in the mid-1960s, to his longer works of the 1970s and '80s, these pieces display Vinge's sense of wonder. Those who love his novels will find his short fiction even more impressive. In such classics as "The Ungoverned" and "The Blabber", Vinge shows the form that has garnered him numerous Hugo and Nebula Award nominations. And in this chronologically arranged showcase, there's a final treat - an original novella found only in this collection.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 165 x 235 x 33.02mm | 504g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0312875843
  • 9780312875848
  • 495,477

Review quote

"A masterful novel, complex in style and plot, heavy with science and social speculation . . . . Vinge is truly an original writer." --NOVA Express on A Deepness in the Sky

"Thoughtful space opera at its best, this book delivers everything it promises in terms of galactic scope, audacious concepts, and believable characters both human and nonhuman." --The New York Times Book Review on Fire Upon the Deep

"True science fiction and a delight." --Publishers Weekly on True Names

"No summary can do justice to the depth and conviction of Vinge's ideas." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review) on A Fire Upon the Deep
show more

About Vernor Vinge

Vernor Vinge has won five Hugo Awards, two of them in the Zones of Thought series: A Fire Upon the Deep and A Deepness in the Sky. Known for his rigorous hard-science approach to his science fiction, he became an iconic figure among cybernetic scientists with the publication in 1981 of his novella True Names, which is considered a seminal, visionary work of Internet fiction. His many books also include Marooned in Realtime, Rainbows End and The Peace War.
show more

Rating details

1,033 ratings
3.98 out of 5 stars
5 29% (301)
4 43% (447)
3 24% (253)
2 3% (26)
1 1% (6)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X