Collected Poems, 1948-98

Collected Poems, 1948-98

1 (1 rating by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$19.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


This "Collected Poems", published in D.J. Enright's 78th year, adds the poetry from books published since 1987 to earlier "Collected Poems" 1982 and 1987. It extends the selection, particularly of earlier work, bringing back into circulation a wider selection of poems. The three famous sequences - "Terrible Shears", "Paradise Illustrated" and "A Faust Book" - are included in their entirety. The collection aims to demonstrate Enright's development, from his sensous early work set in Alexandria and Japan, to a more terse and ironical later verse. Some of the books from which this major collection is drawn include: "The Laughing Hyena" (1953); "Bread rather than Blossoms" (1956); "Some Men are Brothers" (1960) "Addictions" (1962); "The Old Adam" 1965); "Unlawful Assembly" (1968); "Daughters of Earth" (1972); "The Terrible Shears" (1973); "Sad Ires" (1975); and "Paradise Illustrated" (1978).
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 525 pages
  • 124.5 x 190.5 x 40.6mm | 567g
  • Carcanet Press Ltd
  • OxfordPoets
  • Manchester, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Revised
  • 3rd Revised edition
  • 0192880772
  • 9780192880772
  • 1,754,559

About D. J. Enright

About the Author D. J. Enright is an essayist, anthologist, reviewer, and poet. His works include Interplay, The Alluring Problem, The Oxford Book of Death, Collected Poems, and Selected Poems (all OUP).
show more

Rating details

1 ratings
1 out of 5 stars
5 0% (0)
4 0% (0)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 100% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X