Codex
32%
off

Codex

3.01 (6,550 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

About to depart on his first vacation in years, Edward Wozny, a hotshot young investment banker, is sent to help one of his firm's most important and mysterious clients. His task is to search their library stacks for a precious medieval codex, a treasure kept sealed away for many years and for many reasons. Enlisting the help of passionate medievalist Margaret Napier, Edward is determined to solve the mystery of the codex-to understand its significance to his wealthy clients, and to decipher the seeming parallels between the legend of the codex and an obsessive role-playing computer game that has absorbed him in the dark hours of the night. The chilling resolution brings together the medieval and the modern aspects of the plot in a twist worthy of earning comparisons to novels by William Gibson and Dan Brown, not to mention those by A. S. Byatt and Umberto Eco. Lev Grossman's Codex is a thriller of the highest order.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 348 pages
  • 140 x 202 x 22mm | 345g
  • Wadsworth Publishing Co Inc
  • Belmont, CA, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 015602859X
  • 9780156028592
  • 706,389

Black Friday Deals Week

Check out this week's discounts for Black Friday Deals Week. Shop now .

Flap copy

When hotshot young investment banker Edward Wozny is called to the home of an important and mysterious client, the last thing he expects is to be ordered to uncrate and organize a library of rare books. Edward's indignation turns to curiosity when he learns that among the volumes there may be hidden a unique medieval codex, a priceless treasure kept sealed away for many years and for many reasons.
Enlisting the help of Margaret Napier, a passionate and brilliant medieval scholar, Edward learns the strange history of the codex's author, Gervase of Langford, as well as the dark, intricate tale that lies within the missing medieval text. As Edward's obsession with the codex deepens, friends introduce him to MOMUS, an addictive computer game set in a fantasy world that, perplexingly, begins to parallel the legend of the codex. Yet MOMUS confounds more than it clarifies, and it becomes evident that someone is trying to prevent Edward and Margaret from ever finding the elusive codex. As they race against an unknown enemy, the two begin to uncover secrets that the codex's powerful owner will do anything to keep hidden.
An accomplished, powerful literary thriller, Codex explores dark mysteries of both the medieval era and the present, keeping readers guessing right up until its astonishing conclusion.
show more

Back cover copy

A National Bestseller
"A genuine treat with its sneaky plot and richly textured storytelling." -San Francisco Chronicle
Edward Wozny, a hotshot young banker, is about to leave for vacation when he is sent to help an important yet mysterious client. His task: search the family library for a precious, centuries-old codex that may not even exist. Enlisting the expertise of medievalist Margaret Napier, Edward is determined to solve the mystery of the codex and to decipher the parallels between the codex legend and a computer game that absorbs him in the dark hours of the night.
Weaving the medieval and the modern aspects of its plot in a chilling twist, Codex is a thriller of the highest order.
"Takes its place on the shelf of self-referential, bibliophilic page turners like The Name of the Rose, Possession and A Case of Curiosities, and it's as entertaining as any of them."--The New York Times Book Review
"This puzzle of 'nested secrets within secrets' is tailor-made for fans of The Name of the Rose and The Club Dumas." --Detroit Free-Press

[Author photo]
LEV GROSSMAN is Time magazine's book critic. He has written for the New York Times, Salon, Entertainment Weekly, and Time Out New York. He lives in Brooklyn.
show more

Review quote

"Transcends the current vogue for the archaic--linking the 14th and 21st centuries by considering the powers of parchment and PlayStation." "Plays around with narrative in classic postmodern fashion." "Blisteringly hot .... Put Codex on your list." "An exhilarating literary tour de force . mesmerizing from start to finish. A fabulous double-helix of a novel." "Takes its place on the shelf of bibliophilic page-turners like Name of the Rose and Possession. Such a good story." "Alluring and meticulous. Replete with a sexy duchess, a jaded academic ... and a shadowy programmer." "Plays around with narrative in classic postmodern fashion." "A genuine treat with its sneaky plot and richly-textured storytelling. Moves so fast you won''t realize how smart it is." PRAISE FOR CODEX
"A genuine treat, with its sneaky plot and richly textured storytelling. Moves so fast that readers won't realize how smart it is." -SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE "Fascinating, compelling, and deliciously disturbing." -THE BOSTON GLOBE

"Takes its place on the shelf of self-referential, bibliophilic page-turners like The Name of the Rose, Possession and A Case of Curiosities, and it's as entertaining as any of them."
-THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW PRAISE FOR CODEX
"A genuine treat, with its sneaky plot and richly textured storytelling. Moves so fast that readers won't realize how smart it is." -SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE
"Fascinating, compelling, and deliciously disturbing." -THE BOSTON GLOBE
"Takes its place on the shelf of self-referential, bibliophilic page-turners like The Name of the Rose, Possession and A Case of Curiosities, and it's as entertaining as any of them."
-THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW PRAISE FOR CODEX
"A genuine treat, with its sneaky plot and richly textured storytelling. Moves so fast that readers won't realize how smart it is." -SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE
"Fascinating, compelling, and deliciously disturbing." -THE BOSTON GLOBE
"Takes its place on the shelf of self-referential, bibliophilic page-turners like The Name of the Rose, Possession and A Case of Curiosities, and it's as entertaining as any of them."
-THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW ""M"akes the game of writing seductive; Lev Grossman has created a page-turner."" "--Glen David Gold "A thought-provoking and compulsively readable novel." -- Iain Pears, author of "An Instance of the Fingerpost" ""Codex "packs an undeniable wallop. Read it." --Darin Strauss, author of "Chang and Eng" and "The Real McCoy" "A fast-paced, cerebral thriller. Unique. Astonishing." --Katherine Neville, author of "The Eight" "A rare treat for readers and bibliophiles." --Margot Livesey
show more

About Lev Grossman

LEV GROSSMAN is Time magazine's book critic. He has written articles for the New York Times, Salon, Entertainment Weekly, Time Out New York, and the Village Voice. He lives in Brooklyn.
show more

Rating details

6,550 ratings
3.01 out of 5 stars
5 8% (495)
4 22% (1,431)
3 41% (2,715)
2 22% (1,464)
1 7% (445)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X