Clash Of Civilisations Over An Elevator In Piazza Vittorio

Clash Of Civilisations Over An Elevator In Piazza Vittorio

3.69 (2,253 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

The immigrant tenants of a building in Rome offer skewed accounts of a murder in this prize-winning satire by the Algerian-born Italian author (Publishers Weekly). Piazza Vittorio is home to a polyglot community of immigrants who have come to Rome from all over the world. But when a tenant is murdered in the building's elevator, the delicate balance is thrown into disarray. As each of the victim's neighbors is questioned by the police, readers are offered an all-access pass into the most colorful neighborhood in contemporary Rome.
With language as colorful as the neighborhood it describes, each character takes his or her turn "giving evidence." Their various stories reveal much about the drama of racial identity and the anxieties of a life spent on society's margins, but also bring to life the hilarious imbroglios of this melting pot Italian culture. "Their frequently wild testimony teases out intriguing psychological and social insight alongside a playful whodunit plot."--Publishers Weekly
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 144 pages
  • 135 x 210 x 15.24mm | 192g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1933372613
  • 9781933372617
  • 163,543

Review quote

Praise for Clash of Civilizations Over an Elevator in Piazza Vittorio "Recalls Naguib Mahfouz's epic about slices of Egyptian popular life in the 'The Cairo Trilogy' of the 1950s. The rich variety of characters and psychological understanding place Mr. Lakhous in the tradition of Balzac and Dickens."
--The Washington Times "The author's real subject is the heave and crush of modern, polyglot Rome, and he renders the jabs of everyday speech with such precision that the novel feels exclaimed rather than written."
--The New Yorker "Intriguing psychological and social insight alongside a playful whodunit plot, exposing the power of fear, racial prejudice and cultural misconception to rob a neighborhood of its humanity."
--Publishers Weekly "No recent Italian novel so elegantly and directly confronts the 'new Italy.'"
--Philadelphia Inquirer "What's memorable about Lakhous' novel is what he shows us of an often inward-looking nation confronting the teeming vibrancy of multicultural life."
--NPR's Fresh Air "A satirical, enigmatic take in the racial tensions that afflict present-day Europe."
--Brooklyn Rail
show more

About Amara Lakhous

Amara Lakhous was born in Algiers in 1970. Clash of Civilizations Over an Elevator in Piazza Vittorio won Italy's prestigious Flaiano Prize and prompted the critic Carlin Romano to ask in the Philadelphia Inquirer, "Do we have an Italian Alberto Camus on our hands?." Lakhous is also the author of Divorce Islamic Style and Dispute Over a Very Italian Piglet. Ann Goldstein is an editor at The New Yorker. Her translations for Europa Editions include novels by Amara Lakhous, Alessandro Piperno, and Elena Ferrante's bestselling My Brilliant Friend. She lives in New York.
show more

Rating details

2,253 ratings
3.69 out of 5 stars
5 21% (466)
4 40% (902)
3 29% (658)
2 8% (179)
1 2% (48)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X