City of the Uncommon Thief
6%
off

City of the Uncommon Thief

3.25 (132 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

"Guilders work. Foundlings scrub the bogs. Needles bind. Swords tear. And men leave. There is nothing uncommon in this city. I hope Errol Thebes is dead. We both know he is safer that way."

In a walled city of a mile-high iron guild towers, many things are common knowledge: No book in any of the city's libraries reveals its place on a calendar or a map. No living beasts can be found within the city's walls. And no good comes to the guilder or foundling who trespasses too far from their labours.

Even on the tower rooftops, where Errol Thebes and the rest of the city's teenagers pass a few short years under an open sky, no one truly believes anything uncommon is possible within the city walls.

But one guildmaster has broken tradition to protect her child, and as a result the whole city faces an uncommon threat: a pair of black iron spikes that have the power of both sword and needle on the rib cages of men have gone missing, but the mayhem they cause rises everywhere. If the spikes not found and contained, no wall will be high enough to protect the city - or the world beyond it.

And Errol Thebes? He's not dead and he's certainly not safe.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 400 pages
  • 152 x 229 x 25mm | 632g
  • United States
  • English
  • 0525555323
  • 9780525555322

Review quote

"A macabre marvel of a tale."-Kirkus Reviews, starred

"Epic...Recommended for fans of Sabaa Tahir's An Ember in the Ashes and Leigh Bardugo's Six of Crows."-SLJ

"A strange, fascinating adventure in a singular world."-Publishers Weekly
show more

About Lynne Bertrand

Lynne Bertrand is the author of two books for very young readers. This is her first book for young adult readers. She works in A&R for a music label and lives with her family in Northampton, MA.
show more

Rating details

132 ratings
3.25 out of 5 stars
5 23% (30)
4 25% (33)
3 23% (30)
2 14% (18)
1 16% (21)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X