TimeRiders: City of Shadows (Book 6)
44%
off

TimeRiders: City of Shadows (Book 6)

4.19 (1,773 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

Liam O'Connor should have died at sea in 1912.
Maddy Carter should have died on a plane in 2010.
Sal Vikram should have died in a fire in 2026.

But all three have been given a second chance - to work for an agency that no one knows exists. Its purpose: to prevent time travel destroying history . . .

Hunted by cyborg assassins from the future, the TimeRiders must abandon New York and go on the run. They escape to Victorian London and the streets where Jack the Ripper roams. But, before they can establish their new base, they make their most shattering discovery yet - and it will change everything . . .

** Book six in the bestselling TimeRiders series by Alex Scarrow.
** Victorian London's Jack the Ripper get a time-travel makeover!
** Perfect for fans of Doctor Who and Sherlock Holmes.
** TimeRiders (Book 1) won the Red House Book Award older readers category, and was Penguin UK's first ever number one on the iBookstore.
** www.time-riders.co.uk
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 128 x 194 x 28mm | 299.37g
  • PUFFIN
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 6 ed
  • 0141337079
  • 9780141337074
  • 24,994

Review Text

A thriller full of spectacular effects Guardian
show more

Review quote

A thriller full of spectacular effects * Guardian *
show more

About Alex Scarrow

Alex Scarrow used to be a rock guitarist, then he became a graphic artist, then he decided to be a computer games designer. Finally, he grew up and became an author. He has written a number of successful thrillers and several screenplays, but it's YA fiction that has allowed him to really have fun with the ideas and concepts he was playing around with designing games. Alex lives in Norwich.
show more

Rating details

1,773 ratings
4.19 out of 5 stars
5 45% (802)
4 35% (626)
3 15% (267)
2 3% (53)
1 1% (25)

Our customer reviews

This is the 6th instalment of a planned 9 book scifi time travel epic. Whilst each book has a near standalone "adventure of the week" storyline there is an intriguing and mystifying grand story arc that underlines all 9 books. This instalment however, changes that structural pattern and texture, instead taking us full whack into the main story arc from start to finish, effectively making this the most stunning and exhilarating entry yet. There are revelations here that would knock you out unconscious. With book 5 ending with a cliffhanger, book 6 wastes no time resuming where it left off, after a customary sidestepping prologue. In every previous book, the author, Alex Scarrow, has always exhibited a truly masterful talent for storytelling. He constantly drives the narrative at an entertainingly fast pace, exuding heart pumping thrills and a delightfully grounded, logical sense of imagination when depicting alternate realities, past, present and future, depending on the nature of time travelling tamperings. Every bit of science fiction from technology to social/society behaviour to time travelling are given realistic air of possibilities with logical (sometimes head spinning!) explanations. Scarrow maintains those quality ingredients in this novel but then excels further by sweeping us into the grand story arc, flooring us with the radical plot turns (which have clearly been planned meticulously well from the beginning), and infusing our minds with intelligent thought provoking philosophies on life, society and humanity, through the eyes of our much much loved protagonists, Maddy, Liam and Sal. But for all the mind blowing narrative wizardry, the heart and soul of the book always lie with the journey of 3 lonely teen-aged characters burdened with the simple task of saving the world with the most limited of external guidance, and a surmountable load of murderous obstacles. As much as Harry Potter fans have grown attached to Harry, Ron and Hermione, we Timeriders fans have by now become as equally attached to the fates of these superbly crafted characters and to their support unit sidekicks. The revelations in this book binds us even more towards them than ever. This book is their story all the way. There are other heavily written important elements in the story, characters and locations in time and space that will delight and instil fear in equal measure but I shall not mention any of them, as part of the fun is their reveal and integration with our protagonists' journey. I don't want to spoil any of that for you. There isnt as much action set-pieces and thrills as in previous books but that is compensated for the pure dynamite storytelling and I assure all Timeriders fans, you will be turning those pages no less frequent than the previous books, if anything you will be turning them quicker (I finished the book myself in 3 days). I actually thought book 5 was the pivotal point of the series and prematurely claimed that entry to be the equivalent of The Empire Strikes Back. I take that back, this is the TRUE Empire Strikes Back of the series. This is the game changer. This is magnificent science fiction. If you are new to the Timeriders series than this book may not make any sense, or have any impact if you jump straight to this. It is the least standalone book of the series. I simply recommend, without hesitation, for you to start with Book 1. I shall then envy you as you experience Alex Scarrows' remarkable science fiction chronicles for the first time. But as for you fellows Timeriders fans, ah Jay'zuz, wait til' ye get a load o' this one! Note: Dont be anxious about the last 3 books yet to be written and published. These books have been released at an astonishing frequency, at least 2 instalments a year. At this rate of Alex's incredible, almost android like, frequency of publications, those last 3 books may be all released by the end of 2013 and indeed, the next one is already scheduled for February 2013 release date.show more
by Tej Dyal
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X