City of Lies

City of Lies

3.9 (1,073 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Shortlisted for The Aurealis Award, The Ditmar Award and The Norma K. Hemming Award
________

I was seven years old the first time my uncle poisoned me...

Jovan wears two faces. Outwardly, he is the lifelong friend of the Chancellor's charming, irresponsible heir. He's quiet. Forgettable even. But in truth he is a master of poisons and chemicals, trained to protect the Chancellor's family. Then there is his sister, Kalina. She hides her frustrations behind a mask of serenity. While other women of the city holds positions of power and responsibility, her path is full of secrets and lies - some hidden even from her own brother.

It's when the Chancellor succumbs to an unknown poison and an army lays siege to the city that the siblings' world begins to truly unravel. Trapped and desperate, they soon discover that the society into which they were born and grew up also possesses two faces - for behind the sophistication and the beauty lies an ugly truth - this is a world built on oppression and treachery . . .

This fabulous epic fantasy debut that will appeal to readers of Joe Abercrombie and Terry Brooks, Robin Hobb and Mark Lawrence and all points in between.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 560 pages
  • 153 x 234 x 39mm | 718g
  • BANTAM PRESS
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1787630137
  • 9781787630130
  • 421,172

Review Text

"If the first line doesn't make you buy this book, you should turn in your fantasy-lover's badge. City of Lies got me through sitting seven hours in an airport, and proves that a tale about the one who risks his life to thwart assassins can be as compelling as any assassin's tale." ROBIN HOBB
show more

Review quote

"If the first line doesn't make you buy this book, you should turn in your fantasy-lover's badge. City of Lies got me through sitting seven hours in an airport, and proves that a tale about the one who risks his life to thwart assassins can be as compelling as any assassin's tale." -- ROBIN HOBB "City of Lies grips from the first line . . . a compelling fantasy whodunnit - imagine Agatha Christie channelled through Robin Hobb - and a page-turning coming-of-age tale." -- Eric Brown * GUARDIAN * "A tale of poisoners, deceit and treachery that will surely keep readers entranced. I don't read many stories as twisty and unpredictable, especially in the latter chapters, as this one, and I loved what Sam Hawke did." -- TERRY BROOKS "Sibling protagonists anchor this sinuous story of old grievances coming to a boil. Hawke writes with nuance about the loves, loyalties, ambitions and resentments that bind her characters together and threaten to tear them apart." -- KATE ELLIOTT "Sam Hawke does a marvellous job . . . keeping the action tense and the mood fraught, with each plot twist and revelation driving you on to a shocking and satisfying conclusion. City of Lies combines a locked-room mystery with a spy thriller and action-packed fantasy to create an experience that leave you reading late into the night." * SFX magazine *
show more

About Sam Hawke

A lawyer by training and the holder of a black belt in jujitsu, SAM HAWKE lives in Canberra. City of Lies is her first novel.
show more

Rating details

1,073 ratings
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 33% (355)
4 36% (384)
3 22% (240)
2 6% (68)
1 2% (26)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X