City of Lies

City of Lies

3.91 (574 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

I was seven years old the first time my uncle poisoned me . . .

Only a handful of people in Silasta know Jovan's real purpose in life. To most, he is just another son of the ruling class. The quiet, forgettable friend of the Chancellor's charming, irresponsible heir. In reality, Jovan has been trained for most of his life to detect, concoct and withstand poisons in order to protect the ruling family.

His sister Kalina is too frail to share in their secret family duty. While other women of the city hold positions of power and responsibility, her path is full of secrets and lies - some hidden even from her own brother.

Until now, peace has reigned in Silasta for hundreds of years. But when the Chancellor succumbs to an unknown poison and an army storms the gates, the so-called Bright City is completely unprepared. It falls to Jovan and Kalina to protect the heir and save their homeland - but first they must make their way through a new world of unexpected treachery, a world where the ancient spirits are rising . . . and angry.

This fabulous epic fantasy debut will appeal to readers of Joe Abercrombie and Terry Brooks, Robin Hobb and Mark Lawrence and all points in between.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Hardback | 560 pages
  • 162 x 240 x 47mm | 816g
  • BANTAM PRESS
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1787630129
  • 9781787630123
  • 305,038

Looking for beautiful books?

Visit our Beautiful Books page and find lovely books for kids, photography lovers and more. Shop now .

Flap copy

I was seven years old the first time my uncle poisoned me . . .

Only a handful of people in Silasta know Jovan’s real purpose in life. To most, he is just another son of the ruling class. The quiet, forgettable friend of the Chancellor’s charming, irresponsible heir. In reality, Jovan has been trained for most of his life to detect, concoct and withstand poisons in order to protect the ruling family.

His sister Kalina is too frail to share in their secret family duty. While other women of the city hold positions of power and responsibility, her path is full of secrets and lies – some hidden even from her own brother.

Until now, peace has reigned in Silasta for hundreds of years. But when the Chancellor succumbs to an unknown poison and an army storms the gates, the so-called Bright City is completely unprepared. It falls to Jovan and Kalina to protect the heir and save their homeland – but first they must make their way through a new world of unexpected treachery, a world where the ancient spirits are rising . . . and angry.
show more

Review Text

"Sibling protagonists anchor this sinuous story of old grievances coming to a boil. Hawke writes with nuance about the loves, loyalties, ambitions and resentments that bind her characters together and threaten to tear them apart."
show more

Review quote

"If the first line doesn't make you buy this book, you should turn in your fantasy-lover's badge. City of Lies got me through sitting seven hours in an airport, and proves that a tale about the one who risks his life to thwart assassins can be as compelling as any assassin's tale." -- ROBIN HOBB "City of Lies grips from the first line . . . a compelling fantasy whodunnit - imagine Agatha Christie channelled through Robin Hobb - and a page-turning coming-of-age tale." -- Eric Brown * GUARDIAN * "A tale of poisoners, deceit and treachery that will surely keep readers entranced. I don't read many stories as twisty and unpredictable, especially in the latter chapters, as this one, and I loved what Sam Hawke did." -- TERRY BROOKS "Sibling protagonists anchor this sinuous story of old grievances coming to a boil. Hawke writes with nuance about the loves, loyalties, ambitions and resentments that bind her characters together and threaten to tear them apart." -- KATE ELLIOTT "Sam Hawke does a marvellous job . . . keeping the action tense and the mood fraught, with each plot twist and revelation driving you on to a shocking and satisfying conclusion. City of Lies combines a locked-room mystery with a spy thriller and action-packed fantasy to create an experience that leave you reading late into the night." * SFX magazine * "Absolutely loved this; the world building is brilliant, the mystery and crime elements merge seamlessly into a fantastical world of poisoners, warrior-guilds and ancient magic. But the heart of the story is the central characters, they're written with such depth: flawed, human and likeable. City of Lies is a wonderful read and one that I'd highly recommend to all lovers of fantasy." -- JOHN GWYNNE "An enormously enjoyable read, one of the best new fantasies I've seen in a long time." -- ADRIAN TCHAIKOVSKY
show more

About Sam Hawke

A lawyer by training and the holder of a black belt in jujitsu, SAM HAWKE lives in Canberra. City of Lies is her first novel.
show more

Rating details

574 ratings
3.91 out of 5 stars
5 33% (190)
4 37% (213)
3 21% (119)
2 6% (35)
1 3% (17)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X