The Circus Rose

The Circus Rose

3.04 (43 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

From a New York Times best-selling author, a queer retelling of "Snow White and Rose Red" in which teenage twins battle evil religious extremists to save their loves and their circus family. YA fantasy perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Mackenzi Lee, and Laini Taylor. Twins Rosie and Ivory have grown up at their ringmaster mother's knee, and after years on the road, they're returning to Port End, the closest place to home they know. Yet something has changed in the bustling city: fundamentalist flyers paper the walls and preachers fill the squares, warning of shadows falling over the land. The circus prepares a triumphant homecoming show, full of lights and spectacle that could chase away even the darkest shadow. But during Rosie's tightrope act, disaster strikes. In this lush, sensuous novel interwoven with themes of social justice and found family, it's up to Ivory and her magician love--with the help of a dancing bear--to track down an evil priest and save their circus family before it's too late.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 25.15mm | 454g
  • United States
  • English
  • 1328639509
  • 9781328639509
  • 640,827

Review quote

★ "This creative exploration of chosen family, self-knowledge, love, and the tension between opposites is both timely and timeless. Dazzling." --Kirkus, STARRED "Cornwell (The Forest Queen) retells 'Snow White and Rose Red, ' placing the classic fairy tale against a lushly imagined circus backdrop....the story tackles crucial themes--including the importance of found family and the dangers of religious fundamentalism--while navigating complex familial relationships and delivering a rich atmosphere." --Publishers Weekly
show more

About Betsy Cornwell

Betsy Cornwell is the New York Times best-selling author of The Forest Queen, Mechanica, Venturess, and Tides. She was a columnist and editor at Teen Ink before receiving an MFA in creative writing from Notre Dame, where she also taught fiction. She now lives in Ireland with her family. Visit her at www.betsycornwell.com, on Twitter @Betsy_Cornwell and on Instagram @BetsyCornwell
show more

Rating details

43 ratings
3.04 out of 5 stars
5 16% (7)
4 16% (7)
3 30% (13)
2 30% (13)
1 7% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X