Chronicon Henrici Knighton vel Cnitthon, Monachi Leycestrensis 2 Volume Set

Chronicon Henrici Knighton vel Cnitthon, Monachi Leycestrensis 2 Volume Set

By (author)  , Edited by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


This two-volume work was published as part of the Rolls Series between 1889 and 1895. A history of England, it deals principally with the period from 1066 until the death of author Henry Knighton around 1396. An introductory section of material largely drawn from Ranulf Higden adds what Knighton describes as necessary context to the recounting of the Norman Conquest. Volume 1 covers the period up to 1336, culminating in the murder of Edward II. Volume 2 begins in 1337 at the start of the Hundred Years' War and closes in a time of comparative peace under the rule of Richard II. As editor, Joseph Rawson Lumby (1831-95) has been criticised for oversights, errors and omissions. Nevertheless, his detailed contents and marginalia make the Latin text more accessible to the modern more

Product details

  • Paperback | 966 pages
  • 154.94 x 231.14 x 66.04mm | 1,496.85g
  • Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1108053564
  • 9781108053563

Table of contents

Volume 1. Introduction; Book I; Preface; 1. The records of Leicester abbey; 2. King Ethelred and his evil times; 3. Canute made king; 4. Higden's account of Robert, duke of Normandy; 5. Grounds of Canute's claim to the throne of England; 6. Reigns of Harold Harefoot and of Hardecanute; 7. Higden's account of Pope Gregory VI; 8. Higden's narrative of the accession and reign of Edward the Confessor; 9. Foundation of the abbey of Bec; 10. Notices of Edward's treatment of Earl Godwin; 11. Higden's notice of Godwin's death; 12. Extracts from Higden; 13. Extracts from Higden (cont.); 14. Extracts from Higden (cont.); 15. Higden's notice of of the sickness and death of the Confessor; 16. Harold crowned king; Book II: 1. Normans land at Pevensey bay and at Sandwich; 2. Voice heard by William in the night; 3. War between William I and Malcolm of Scotland; 4. Extracts from Higden continued; 5. Higden's account of the accession of William Rufus; 6. Mainly on the ecclesiastical history of England at this time; 7. Story about one who prayed for the dead; 8. Henry made king of England; 9. Victory of Henry I over the king of France; 10. Continuing the history down to Stephen's death; 11. Of St Patrick the younger and his preaching; 12. Knighton's notices of the family of Henry II; 13. History of Richard I; 14. The story of how Richard gained the name of Cor Leonis; 15. King John's confiscation of church property; 16. Battle of Lincoln; Book III: 1. English and Welsh history from 1272 to 1285; 2. English, Scotch, and Welsh history to 1294; 3. The Scotch rebellion and its suppression; 4. Letter of King Edward to Pope Boniface; 5. Conflict between the king and the clergy; 6. War between France and England; 7. Exactions of King Edward from the clergy; 8. Answer to the cardinals; 9. Edward's resolve to cross into Flanders; 10. Events of the Scotch war; 11. English border skirmishing; 12. The English preparations for invading Scotland; 13. Peace between France and England; 14. English affairs between 1307 and 1321; 15. English events down to the deposition of Edward II; 16. Affairs of England and Scotland down to 1335. Volume 2. Errata; Introduction; Book IV: 1337-95; more