Chocolat

Chocolat : (Chocolat 1)

3.95 (120,542 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Lose yourself in Chocolat - the mesmerising and heart-warming bestseller that celebrates kindness, courage and chocolate. Multi-million copy bestselling author Joanne Harris's delightful novel set in rural France is perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop, Fiona Valpy, Maggie O'Farrell and Rachel Joyce.

'A feel-good book of the first order. One to curl up with... Read it' -- OBSERVER
'Sensuous and thought-provoking... subtle and brilliant' -- DAILY TELEGRAPH
'You are transported to another world. It's perfect escapism.' -- ***** Reader review
'A wonderful story told by a world-class storyteller.' -- ***** Reader review
'I became totally immersed in this story. I loved it.' -- ***** Reader review

**************************************************************************************
In the small French village of Lansquenet, nothing much has changed in a hundred years. Then an exotic stranger, Vianne Rocher, blows in on the changing wind with her young daughter, and opens a chocolate boutique directly opposite the church. Soon the villagers cannot keep away, for Vianne can divine their most hidden desires.

But it's the beginning of Lent, the season of abstinence, and Father Reynaud denounces her as a serious moral danger to his flock. Perhaps even a witch.

If Vianne's chocolaterie is to survive, it will take kindness, courage and a little bit of magic...

Chocolat is Joanne Harris's first book about Vianne Rocher, and was turned into the Oscar-nominated film starring Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp. The story of Vianne and her daughters continues in The Lollipop Shoes, Peaches for Monsieur le Cure, and The Strawberry Thief.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 127 x 198 x 23mm | 262g
  • Black Swan
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0
  • 9780552998482
  • 5,039

Review Text

Sensuous and thought-provoking ... subtle and brilliant
show more

Review quote

Mouthwatering ... a feelgood book of the first order ... your senses are left reeling. Read it * Observer * Is this the best book ever written? Truly excellent ... Harris's achievement is not only in her story, in her insight and humour and the wonderful picture of small-town life in rural France, but also in her writing * Literary Review * Sensuous and thought-provoking ... subtle and brilliant * Daily Telegraph * A celebration of pleasure, of love, of tolerance * Observer * An addictive read ... haunting, obsessive and just a little nutty, like a freshly made praline -- Elisabeth Luard, author of "Family Life"
show more

About Joanne Harris

Joanne Harris's Whitbread-shortlisted Chocolat was made into an Oscar-nominated film starring Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp. She is the author of many other bestselling novels, including Lollipop Shoes, Peaches for Monsieur le Cure, and The Strawberry Thief, all also featuring Vianne Rocher. She has also written acclaimed novels in such diverse genres as fantasy based on Norse myth (Runemarks, Runelight, The Gospel of Loki), and the Malbry cycle of dark psychological thrillers (Gentlemen & Players, Blueeyedboy, and Different Class).

Born in Barnsley, of an English father and a French mother, she spent fifteen years as a teacher before (somewhat reluctantly) becoming a full-time writer. In 2013, she was awarded an MBE. She lives in Yorkshire, plays bass and flute in a band first formed when she was sixteen, and works in a shed in her garden.
show more

Rating details

120,542 ratings
3.95 out of 5 stars
5 31% (37,581)
4 40% (48,315)
3 23% (27,432)
2 5% (5,576)
1 1% (1,638)

Our customer reviews

I have read this book 3 times to date, i just love this book.... my chocolate intake defiantly increases when i read this book ha ha. Its such a beautiful, easy, can't put this book down read... a real fairy tale that lets your imagination run wild ;)show more
by sarah conte
"I loved this book and found it easy to read. It was exciting and a real page turner. It had me hooked from start to finish. The characters are loveable, especially Armande. As I begun the book and got through it, I found myself falling in love with the characters, and I found that lots of detail had been given to them and the town etc, so much that I felt I was there with them as I read the book. I also found that I could identify with Vianne, and this helped me to feel close to her. But my favourite character of the book has to be Armande and did I cry! My Verdict: Wonderful!"show more
by a Book Depository customer
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X