China at the Crossroads

China at the Crossroads

3.6 (5 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

This concise and timely book, written by one of the worlda s leading authorities on China, argues that the country is at a crossroads in its development and explores the challenges that lie ahead. * A concise and timely book about China and its future, which argues that the country it at a crossroads in its development. * Written by one of the world's leading authorities on China. * Explores the challenges facing Chinaa s leadership in the 21st Century, including poverty and inequality, the global business revolution, the environment, the capability and role of the state, international relations, the communist party, and the economy. * Puts forward a concrete view about the course China should follow in the coming decades.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 224 pages
  • 158 x 226 x 22mm | 458.14g
  • Polity Press
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New
  • 1, black & white illustrations
  • 0745632386
  • 9780745632384

Review quote

"In this concise work, Peter Nolan provides a compelling and provocative assessment of China's developmental challenge. As Nolan shows, it is not just China, but indeed the whole world, that stands at the crossroads. New rules, new technologies and a new global distribution of power have all called into question traditional answers to the problem of underdevelopment. China, to a greater degree perhaps than any other nation, has the potential to uncover a new path toward modernity. As Nolan points out, the consequences of its doing so, breathtaking as they are, would easily be dwarfed by the catastrophe of its failing to do so." Edward Steinfeld, Massachusetts Institute of Technology "Peter Nolan has produced a bold, readable and fast--paced work which asks large and important questions. He begins with a brilliant sketch of post--Mao Chinaa s enormous achievements and extraordinary challenges. After presenting the path of neo--liberalism as no solution for China, Nolan powerfully depicts the lasting lessons of the unique and glorious successes that were Chinaa s in the ages before the rise of Europe. He concludes with an innovative and insightful argument that, properly understood, the way ahead for China lies in synthesizing and building on the best in ethical thinking and economic analysis shared by Confucius and Adam Smith. Nolan has produced a mind--expanding tour de force." Edward Friedman, University of Winsconsin "This is an important book written in the tradition of The Wealth of Nations and The Theory of Moral Sentiments. Rare in the political economy literature, it is simultaneously sweeping and detailed, rigorous and moving." Lin Chun, Asia Research Centre, London School of Economics "This is a very readable book, full of interesting historical information on China, extensive literature refrences to works by Confucius, Marco Polo and Adam Smith (to mention but a few) and wise comments on the direction China should take at this critical juncture." Piiter Bottelier, Johns Hopkins Universityshow more

Back cover copy

This is a concise and timely book on a hugely important topic - China in the twenty-first century. Peter Nolan argues that China faces a series of complex problems, most of which are the consequence of its rapid growth since the process of 'reform and opening up' began in the late 1970s. Among the challenges facing the leadership are issues of poverty and inequality, the global business revolution, the environment, the capability and role of the state, international relations, the Communist Party and the economy. The way in which it responds to these will determine the country's pattern of development for a long period ahead. While there are several paths open to it, Nolan argues that China has historically developed its own 'Third Way' between state and market, and that this is the only rational solution to the challenges it faces in the twenty-first century.show more

About Peter Nolan

Peter Nolan is Sinyi Professor of Chinese Management at the Judge Institute of Management Studies, University of Cambridge, and Fellow of Jesus College, Cambridge.show more

Table of contents

Preface. Introduction. Prologue. 1. The Challenges to China's Economic and Political Stability: Can China Build a Sustainable and Civilized Modern Economy?. 2. China at the Crossroads: Which Directions?. 3. China at the Crossroads: a Use the Past to Serve the Presenta (Gu Wei Jin Yong). Conclusion. Epilogue. Notes. Bibliography. Index.show more

Rating details

5 ratings
3.6 out of 5 stars
5 20% (1)
4 40% (2)
3 20% (1)
2 20% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X