The Chill of Night
22%
off

The Chill of Night

4.07 (2,529 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

The Chill of Night is James Hayman's second instalment in his McCabe and Savage series.

A frozen corpse means a big headache for Detective Michael McCabe
Lainie Goff thinks she has it all. A glamorous young Portland attorney with the brains and looks to match her ambitions, she's on the fast-track to a partnership. Until one cold winter night she discovers that her belief in her ability to handle any situation was misplaced. Now she's just a frozen corpse in the boot of a car at the end of Portland Fish Pier.

And a problem for homicide detective Michael McCabe.
Luckily for McCabe, there's a witness. A mentally disturbed young woman named Abby Quinn saw what happened to Lainie. Unfortunately, Abby mysteriously goes missing the very same night. With a victim who'd known more than her share of bad guys, a list of suspects that seems to get longer and longer and his only witness missing, McCabe has got his work cut out.
But it's only a matter of time before the killer strikes again . . .

Following the success of the first instalment The Cutting, The Chill of Night continues to follow Detective McCabe as he solves Portland's crimes. Fans of Harlan Coben and Michael Connelly will be hooked.

Praise for James Hayman:
'A stunning debut that gripped me from first page to last. A thriller of a thriller!' Tess Gerritsen
'Supremely accomplished storytelling' Daily Mail
'Taut, suspenseful . . . every bit as dark and sinister as Lehane and Connelly' Richard Montanari

James Hayman spent more than twenty years as a senior creative director at one of New York's largest advertising agencies. He and his wife now live in Portland, Maine. This is his third novel.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 30mm | 277g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0141047305
  • 9780141047300
  • 413,130

Looking for beautiful books?

Visit our Beautiful Books page and find lovely books for kids, photography lovers and more. Shop now .

Review Text

A stunning debut that gripped me from first page to last. A thriller of a thriller! Tess Gerritsen
show more

Review quote

A stunning debut that gripped me from first page to last. A thriller of a thriller! * Tess Gerritsen * A clever and suspenseful thriller * Boston Globe Pick of the Week * McCabe is a formidable detective tested to the limit in Hayman's atmospheric puzzler * Publishers Weekly * Packs a terrific punch and comes complete with pace and panache . . . Hayman doesn't write for the faint-hearted . . . Taut, deft and with a delicate sense of place, this is supremely accomplished storytelling * Daily Mail *
show more

About James Hayman

James Hayman spent more than twenty years as a senior creative director at one of New York's largest advertising agencies. He and his wife now live in Portland, Maine. The Cutting was his first thriller featuring Michael McCabe, followed by The Chill of the Night and Darkness First.
show more

Rating details

2,529 ratings
4.07 out of 5 stars
5 34% (863)
4 44% (1,112)
3 18% (456)
2 3% (66)
1 1% (32)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X