A Child's Garden of Verses

A Child's Garden of Verses

4.3 (22,367 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


A Child's Garden of Verses is a collection of poetry for children about childhood, illness, play and solitude by the Scottish author Robert Louis Stevenson. The collection first appeared in 1885 under the title Penny Whistles, but has been reprinted many times, often in illustrated versions. It contains about 65 poems including the cherished classics "Foreign Children," "The Lamplighter," "The Land of Counterpane," "Bed in Summer," "My Shadow" and "The Swing." The classical scholar Terrot Reaveley Glover published a translation of the poems into Latin in 1922 under the title Carmina non prius audita de ludis et hortis virginibus puerisque This classic children's poetry collection includes the following titles, To Alison Cunningham, Bed in Summer, A Thought, At the Sea-side, Young Night Thought, Whole Duty of Children, Rain, Pirate Story (poem), Foreign Lands, Windy Nights, Travelling, Singing, Looking Forward, A Good Play Where Go the Boats?, Auntie's Skirts, The Land of Counterpane, The Land of Nod, and My Shadow, among many others.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 76 pages
  • 152 x 229 x 4mm | 113g
  • English
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 1514288109
  • 9781514288108

Rating details

22,367 ratings
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 54% (11,983)
4 28% (6,169)
3 15% (3,385)
2 3% (603)
1 1% (227)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X