The Children's Hour

The Children's Hour

3.83 (527 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$11.06

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Nest and Mina still live at Ottercombe, their beautiful old rambling childhood home in the depths of Devon. They came to the house before the war, when as small children they played with their sisters and brothers in the gardens and the woods and the nearby beach while their mother read them stories and their father visited at weekends. It was, in retrospect, an idyllic time, when tragedy seemed far distant. Now they welcome their children and grandchildren , and especially young Lyddie, their niece, who lives in Cornwall with her handsome husband Liam. But when their sister Georgie, now somewhat frail and forgetful, comes to stay with them, aspects of their past start to revisit them. For Georgie knows all their secrets, secrets which she wants to share...A glorious novel about half-forgotten memories and childhood secrets in the tradition of Rosamunde Pilcher, and perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop, Erica James and Santa Montefiore.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 106 x 172 x 32mm | 222.26g
  • Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • Corgi Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0552150622
  • 9780552150620
  • 439,921

Review quote

"Echoes of carefree childhood summers resonate throughout Marcia Willett's beguiling story of family relationships. They ensnare and entrance the reader in equal measure."-"Yorkshire Evening Post" "She may not be as famous as Binchy or Pilcher, but British writer Willett is just as gifted at combining elements of romance and melodrama into compelling women's fiction. Stylistically, her writing mirrors Pilcher's, with a hint of subtlety suggesting more literary fiction, but her generational plots and sumptuous scene setting have all of Binchy's wide ranging commercial appeal. Willett captures the sights, sounds, and smells of seaside Devon superbly, and her characters are just complex enough to draw us into the story and keep us there contentedly. A must for women's fiction readers."-"Booklist" "Entertaining character study...readers will enjoy this gentle breeze."-Harriet Klausner "A warm novel with echoes of the past and an endearing simplicity."-Tim Manderson, "Publishingshow more

About Marcia Willett

Marcia Willett's early life was devoted to the ballet, but her dreams of becoming a ballerina ended when she grew out of the classical proportions then required. She had always loved books, and a family crisis made her take up a new career as a novelist - a decision she has never regretted.She lives in a beautiful and wild part of Devon with her husband, where she loves to be visited by her son and his young family.show more

Rating details

527 ratings
3.83 out of 5 stars
5 28% (146)
4 39% (207)
3 25% (134)
2 4% (23)
1 3% (17)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X