The Child Finder

The Child Finder

3.96 (40,125 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
3.96 (40,125 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 25-30 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

'A darkly luminous story of resilience and the deeply human instinct for survival, for love...The Child Finder is a novel that demands to be consumed and then once inside you - lingers...' A.M. Homes, author of MAY WE BE FORGIVEN

For fans of THE LOVELY BONES, ROOM and THE ENCHANTED

Naomi Cottle finds missing children. When the police have given up their search and an investigation stalls, families call her. She possesses a rare, intuitive sense, born out of her own experience, that allows her to succeed when others have failed.

Young Madison Culver has been missing for three years. She vanished on a family trip to the mountainous forests of Oregon, where they'd gone to cut down a tree for Christmas. Soon after she disappeared, blizzards swept the region and the authorities presumed she died from exposure.

But Naomi knows that Madison isn't dead. As she relentlessly pursues the truth behind Madison's disappearance, shards of a dark dream pierce defences that have protected her for so long. If she finds this child, will Naomi ultimately unlock the secrets of her own life?


WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT THE CHILD FINDER:

'A beautifully written, gripping page turner...a book that is worth searching for, bringing home, and welcoming into your family. 5*' Goodreads

'This book is dazzling and heartbreaking. 5*' Goodreads

'A wonderful, extraordinary book. The author speaks from her heart on every page.' 5* Goodreads

'I could not put this book down until the captivating conclusion.' 5* Goodreads

'I finished the book in a day, not wanting to put it down.' 5* Goodreads

'Wow...a page turner, keeping me in all weekend.' 5* Goodreads

'Loved it and will be recommending it to everyone I know.' 5* Goodreads

'The Child Finder is one of the most beautiful novels I've ever read.' 5* Goodreads
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 223 x 145 x 27mm | 418g
  • Weidenfeld & Nicolson
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1474605532
  • 9781474605533
  • 337,919

Review quote

Poetic... Redemptive... Unflinching -- Barry Forshaw * FINANCIAL TIMES * A moving tale of resilience and hope in the face of the worst of humanity -- Jon Coates * DAILY EXPRESS * A compelling blast of cold air from the wintry woods, with elements of a dark fairytale -- Alison Flood * OBSERVER * The sense of physical and psychological isolation is palpable in this moving exploration of loss, hope and human resilience -- Laura Wilson * GUARDIAN * Denfeld's haunting, disquieting and tension-filled tale is brilliantly told * IRISH INDEPENDENT * A truly mesmerising and deeply moving story * HEAT * Part mystery, part fairy tale, this is also a real white-knuckle read where the suspense ratchets up to almost unbearable proportions * CANDIS MAGAZINE * Rene Denfeld has a gift for shining bright light in dark places. The Child Finder is a gorgeous, haunting gem of a novel. Raw and real yet wrapped in a fairy tale, as lovely and as chilling as the snow -- Erin Morgenstern, NYT bestselling author of THE NIGHT CIRCUS A darkly luminous story of resilience and the deeply human instinct for survival, for love. Blending the magical thinking of childhood, of fairy tales, dreams, memories and nightmares, The Child Finder is a terrifying and ultimately uplifting novel that demands to be consumed and then once inside you - lingers... -- A.M. Homes, author of MAY WE BE FORGIVEN A glittering gem of a story - part mystery, part fairy tale, and all white-knuckled, edge-of-your-seat thriller . . . readers will be drawn in by Denfeld's lyrical prose and undone by the brutal reality that Naomi uncovers, just beneath the snowy forest floor * Library Journal * Denfeld is a Portland-based journalist and private investigator, and also the adoptive mother of three foster children. All of these aspects of her life are mined in The Child Finder, a powerful novel about a search for a missing girl that's also a search for identity.... It's "Deliverance" encased in ice... Denfeld's novel is indeed loaded with suspense, its resonance comes from its surprising tilt towards storytelling restraint, a rarity in this typical crackling genre. Elegiac, informative and disquieting... The novel gallops to a suitably heart-racing finish -- Michael Callahan * New York Times Book Review * The story takes you forward on a fast-paced search and recovery, one that keeps you turning the pages. Imminent danger is palpable, keeping you reading, while the mystery is deep and full of angst and loneliness. Danger and urgency are the prevailing worries....If you enjoy mystery, romance, danger and some darkness you will love this story. This work takes you on a journey and keeps you turning the pages until the truth comes out. The characters will stay with you a long time -- Leslie Wright * Seattle PI * Giving voice to those who are metaphorically or even literally voiceless, Rene Denfeld reminds us that consequences continue, aftermath continues - yet we must somehow find ways of holding on to threads of hard-won hope * San Francisco Chronicle * A gripping page-turner * Real Simple magazine * A hauntingly beautiful, chilling novel by a real-life badass heroine (Rene Denfeld is, among other things, a licensed investigator and foster-adoptive parent), The Child Finder turns around a woman named Naomi, a private investigator with a gift for finding lost children, and her search for a girl who has been missing in the Oregon woods for three years. Denfeld brings Naomi to life with precise, lyrical prose. While the whole book reads like a fairytale for adults, Naomi herself is fully realized and deeply human * CrimeReads *
show more

About Rene Denfeld

Rene Denfeld is a death penalty investigator and the author of the novel THE ENCHANTED, as well as three non-fiction books, including the international bestseller, THE NEW VICTORIANS. She has written for numerous publications, including the NEW YORK TIMES MAGAZINE. She lives in Portland, Oregon, with her three children, all adopted from foster care. In addition to working with death row clients, Ms. Denfeld volunteers with at-risk youth and in foster adoption advocacy.

http://renedenfeld.com/
show more

Rating details

40,125 ratings
3.96 out of 5 stars
5 30% (11,907)
4 44% (17,523)
3 21% (8,286)
2 5% (1,847)
1 1% (562)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X