The Chemist
50%
off

The Chemist

3.7 (21,363 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

In this gripping page-turner, an ex-agent on the run from her former employers must take one more case to clear her name and save her life. She used to work for the U.S. government, but very few people ever knew that. An expert in her field, she was one of the darkest secrets of an agency so clandestine it doesn’t even have a name. And when they decided she was a liability, they came for her without warning. Now she rarely stays in the same place or uses the same name for long. They’ve killed the only other person she trusted, but something she knows still poses a threat. They want her dead, and soon. When her former handler offers her a way out, she realises it’s her only chance to erase the giant target on her back. But it means taking one last job for her ex-employers. To her horror, the information she acquires only makes her situation more dangerous. Resolving to meet the threat head-on, she prepares for the toughest fight of her life but finds herself falling for a man who can only complicate her likelihood of survival. As she sees her choices being rapidly whittled down, she must apply her unique talents in ways she never dreamed of. In this tautly plotted novel, Meyer creates a fierce and fascinating new heroine with a very specialised skill set. And she shows once again why she’s one of the world’s bestselling authors.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 608 pages
  • 162 x 240 x 46mm | 818g
  • LITTLE BROWN & COMPANY (UK)
  • Sphere
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0751567671
  • 9780751567670
  • 3,267

About Stephenie Meyer

Stephenie Meyer graduated from Brigham Young University with a degree in English literature. Her internationally bestselling Twilight Series has sold 155 million copies worldwide. In 2008 she published The Host, her first novel for adults, which debuted at number one on The New York Times and Wall Street Journal bestseller lists, and was a number one Sunday Times bestseller in paperback. The Host has sold more than 5.3 million copies in the U.S., with an additional 3.7 million copies sold worldwide including 1.3 million in its UK editions, and was released as a feature film in 2013. She lives with her husband and three sons in Arizona. show more

Review quote

Meyer has dreamed up a fast-paced thriller, and a tough, mysterious heroine ... fabulous Observer A high-octane thriller ... a compulsive page turner Red The pages turn themselves Washington Post Written in Meyer's trademark compulsive style and packed with action, mystery and intrigue ... hugely enjoyable Heat It's nice to see a heroine whose greatest asset is her brain ... [the] pages fly by Entertainment Weekly Full-on from page one, this is a rip-roaring thriller in the best tradition Glasgow Herald The Twilight mogul moves from blood-sucker romance to heart-stopping drama with a thriller about a kick-ass scientist and ex-government agent on the run. Angela Ledgerwood, Cosmopolitan In the vein of David Baldacci or Lee Child ... consistently fast-paced fun ... a terrific ride USA Today Here, an exciting heroine (see: female Jason Bourne) knows too much, is a threat, and has one last chance to clear her name. Even more exciting than vampires, no? Steph Opitz, Marie Claireshow more

Review Text

Meyer has dreamed up a fast-paced thriller , and a tough, mysterious heroine . . . fabulous Observershow more

Rating details

21,363 ratings
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 26% (5,530)
4 36% (7,669)
3 26% (5,468)
2 9% (1,828)
1 4% (868)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X