Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe

Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe

2.88 (418 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$26.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Named one of 2019's most anticipated reads by Entertainment Weekly, "a hilarious and witty joy of a novel about a family's insanely dramatic summer at their new island home" (Cosmopolitan) in the Pacific Northwest. The inimitable--some might say incorrigible--Frank Widdicombe is suffering from a deep depression. Or so his wife, Carol, believes. But Carol is convinced that their new island home--Willowbrook Manor on the Puget Sound--is just the thing to cheer him up. And so begins a whirlwind summer as their house becomes the epicenter of multiple social dramas involving the family, their friends, and a host of new acquaintances. The Widdicombes' son, Christopher, is mourning a heartbreak after a year abroad in Italy. Their personal assistant, Michelle, begins a romance with preppy screenwriter Bradford, who also happens to be Frank's tennis partner. Meanwhile, a local named Marvelous Matthews is hired to create a garden at the manor--and is elated to find Gracie Sloane, bewitching self-help author, in residence as well. When this alternately bumbling and clever cast of characters comes together, they turn "as frothy and bitter as a pot of freshly brewed dark-roast coffee, the kind that's always available on the Widdicombe's sideboard. And the dialogue, oh how it singes and sears" (The Washington Post). A "gleefully over-the-top satiric debut" (Kirkus Reviews), Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe is perfect for fans of Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette?, Andrew Sean Greer's Less, and Jess Walter's Beautiful Ruins.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 142 x 216 x 28mm | 386g
  • English
  • 1501199617
  • 9781501199615
  • 1,746,214

Review quote

"What a joy to be with the Widdicombes! As funny and charming as a summer party you never want to end."-- Andrew Sean Greer, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Less
show more

Rating details

418 ratings
2.88 out of 5 stars
5 9% (37)
4 17% (70)
3 39% (163)
2 25% (106)
1 10% (42)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X