Chasing Shadows
19%
off

Chasing Shadows

3.62 (663 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Illustrated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

-A superb novel about grief, friendship, and mental illness, mixing in graphic-novel elements and themes from Hindu mythology.- --Publishers Weekly, Starred Corey, Holly, and Savitri are closer than family until a random act of violence shatters their world. A gunman shoots at their car, leaving Corey dead, Holly in a coma, and Savitri the sole witness to the crime. When Holly wakes up, she is changed--determined to hunt down Corey's killer, whatever the cost. Savitri fears that Holly is running wild, losing her grip on reality. Friends should stand by each other in times of crisis. But can you hold on too tight? Too long? Swati Avasthi delivers a riveting novel that will appeal to fans of Laini Taylor and Laurie Halse Anderson. -Haunting, mesmerizing and intense.- --Kirkus Reviews, Starred -[A] visceral story of love, grief, and madness that is both action-packed and psychologically acute.- --The Horn Bookshow more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 308 pages
  • 154 x 236 x 34mm | 439.99g
  • Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • black & white illustrations
  • 0375863427
  • 9780375863424
  • 606,681

About Swati Avasthi

SWATI AVASTHI is the author of the highly acclaimed novel Split, winner of the IRA Book Award and the Cybils Award. Ms. Avasthi received her MFA from the University of Minnesota and currently teaches in Hamline University's MFA program in Writing for Children and Young Adults. She lives in Minneapolis with her husband and two children. Visit her at swatiavasthi.com. CRAIG PHILLIPS is an award-winning illustrator whose work has appeared on book jackets, in publications like Rolling Stone, and on tour posters for bands, including the Foo Fighters and the Red Hot Chili Peppers. He lives in New Zealand with his family.show more

Review quote

Starred Review, Publishers Weekly, August 5, 2013: "Avasthi (Split) delivers a superb novel about grief, friendship, and mental illness, mixing in graphic-novel elements and themes from Hindu mythology." Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews, September 1, 2013: "Haunting, mesmerizing and intense. Starred Review, School Library Journal, November 2013: Fans of Cecil Castellucci s "Year of the Beasts" will especially appreciate this book s themes and its hybrid format that alternates chapters in both compelling text and adept black-and-white graphics graphics that ultimately deliver a sad and powerful twist. "show more

Rating details

663 ratings
3.62 out of 5 stars
5 21% (138)
4 36% (239)
3 31% (208)
2 9% (58)
1 3% (20)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X