Charming
7%
off

Charming

3.75 (5,792 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

John Charming isn't your average Prince...

He comes from a line of Charmings - an illustrious family of dragon slayers, witch-finders and killers dating back to before the fall of Rome. Trained by a modern day version of the Knights Templar, monster hunters who have updated their methods from chain mail and crossbows to Kevlar and shotguns, John Charming was one of the best - until a curse made him one of the abominations the Knights were sworn to hunt.

That was a lifetime ago. Now, John tends bar under an assumed name in rural Virginia and leads a peaceful, quiet life. That is, until a vampire and a blonde walked into his bar...
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 139 x 209 x 28mm | 350g
  • Orbit
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • New
  • 0316253391
  • 9780316253390
  • 251,505

Review Text

"The Pax Arcana books are seriously good reads. Action, humor, and heart with unexpected twists and turns. If you are (like me) waiting for the next Butcher or Hearne--pick up Elliott James. Then you can bite your nails waiting for the next James, too."-Patricia Briggs, New York Times #1 bestselling author of the Mercy Thompson series
show more

Review quote

"James's world is rich and complex anew ell worth diving into."--Richard Kadrey "Loved it! "Charming" is a giant gift basket of mythology and lore delivered by a brilliant new voice in urban fantasy. Elliott James tells stories that are action-packed, often amusing, and always entertaining." "Kevin Hearne, author of "Hounded""" "This debut introduces a self-deprecating, wisecracking, and honorable-to-a-fault hero who can stand up to such established protagonists as Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden and Seanen McGuire's October Daye. Combining action and romance -- with an emphasis on action -- this is a top-notch new series opener for lovers of urban fantasy."--Library Journal (Starred review) "Grab some snacks and settle back as splendid debut author James serves up a Prince Charming tale yanked sideways. John Charming comes from a prominent line of dragon slayers, witch-finders and killers trained by the Knights Templar, but now he has a problem: He has become what they hunt. James' reluctant hero faces threats and danger with a smart-ass attitude that keeps the narrative fast paced, edgy and amusing. Mark this name down -- you will undoubtedly be seeing more from James!"--RT Book Reviews "In a saturated literary realm, James's tale stands out for the gritty, believable world he builds... This is masculine urban fantasy in the vein of Jim Butcher and Mark del Franco."--Booklist "James's world is rich and complex and well worth diving into."--Richard Kadrey "I loved this book from start to finish. Exciting and innovative, Charming is a great introduction to a world I look forward to spending a lot more time in."--New York Times bestselling author Seanan McGuire "Loved it! Charming is a giant gift basket of mythology and lore delivered by a brilliant new voice in urban fantasy. Elliott James tells stories that are action-packed, often amusing, and always entertaining."--Kevin Hearne, author of Hounded "The Pax Arcana books are seriously good reads. Action, humor, and heart with unexpected twists and turns. If you are (like me) waiting for the next Butcher or Hearne--pick up Elliott James. Then you can bite your nails waiting for the next James, too."--Patricia Briggs, New York Times #1 bestselling author of the Mercy Thompson series
show more

About Elliott James

An army brat and gypsy scholar, ELLIOTT JAMES is currently living in the blueridge mountains of southwest Virginia. An avid reader since the age of three (or that's what his family swears anyhow), he has an abiding interest in mythology, martial arts, live music, hiking, and used bookstores. Irrationally convinced that cellphone technology was inserted into human culture by aliens who want to turn us into easily tracked herd beasts, Elliott has one anyhow but keeps it in a locked tinfoil covered box which he will sometimes sit and stare at mistrustfully for hours. Okay, that was a lie. Elliott lies a lot; in fact, he decided to become a writer so that he could get paid for it.
show more

Rating details

5,792 ratings
3.75 out of 5 stars
5 21% (1,243)
4 43% (2,504)
3 27% (1,575)
2 6% (351)
1 2% (119)

Our customer reviews

John Charming is a former modern-day Knights Templar; a group dedicated to keeping the supernatural community in line. The problem is he is also an abomination. His mother was bitten by a werewolf when she was pregnant with him. Years later he began showing signs of becoming a werewolf but never actually shifting and needed to run from those who trained him. However, his oath magically obligates him to continue to keep the monsters in line. Now he finds himself helping the beautiful vampire huntress and her friends in preventing a vampire hive killing spree, while not drawing the attention of the Knights Templar. I really enjoyed Charming. It has an interesting plot and wonderful characters. Elliott James does an outstanding job at keeping you guessing about what’s going to happen next as well as who can be trusted. I especially like John’s personality. His comments are priceless. He makes an exceptional main character who I look forward to reading more about in future Pax Arcana novels. This was the first book I read by Elliott James. He is a gifted writer. I love his humor. He kept me entertained through the entire book. Charming would make a great movie. It has lots of actions and mystery. I look forward to the next book in the series, Darling. ARC provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.show more
by Diane Lynch
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X