Charlotte Street

Charlotte Street : The laugh out loud romantic comedy with a twist for fans of Nick Hornby

3.52 (3,749 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$28.75

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A heartwarming everyday tale of boy stalks girl...

My name is Jason - and I have just met the most incredible woman, on Charlotte Street. Well, I say 'met'. I sort of held her bags for a second. But she smiled at me! And it was this amazing smile.

Of course, I don't know her name, or anything about her at all. But I do happen to have something of hers. She left behind one of those old-school disposable cameras. I've got it. It's here in front of me.

So there are two things I could now do: I could develop the photos. See her again, see her life. Maybe work out a way of finding her. Find that smile. Or I could chuck it in a bin like a grown-up.

I'm fairly sure one of those ideas is a good one. I'm fairly sure the other might be illegal. Look, if you were me... what would you do?

A heartwarming, laugh out loud novel perfect for fans of David Nicholls and Nicky Hornby from the bestselling author of Yes Man

*****
Praise for Charlotte Street:

'One of this year's coolest must-reads' Stylist

'Fully of funny observations' Heat

'A brilliantly funny boy meets girl story' Mail on Sunday

'An unmissable read which will have you laughing out loud and melt your heart, all at once' Cosmopolitan
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 416 pages
  • 135 x 216 x 30mm | 459g
  • Ebury Press
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Trade Paperback.
  • 0091919029
  • 9780091919023
  • 221,830

Flap copy

It all starts with a girl…
(because yes, there’s always a girl…)

Jason Priestley (not that one) has just seen her. They shared an incredible, brief, fleeting moment of deep possibility, somewhere halfway down Charlotte Street.

And then, just like that, she was gone – accidentally leaving him holding her old-fashioned, disposable camera, chock full of undeveloped photos...

And now Jason – ex-teacher, ex-boyfriend, part-time writer and reluctant hero – faces a dilemma. Should he try and track The Girl down? What if she’s The One? But that would mean using the only clues he has, which lie untouched in this tatty disposable...

It’s funny how things can develop...
show more

Back cover copy

I'd been standing on the corner of Charlotte Street when it happend.

There was a girl struggling with the door of a cab and her packages. And I don’t know why, but I asked if
I could help. And she smiled at me. This incredible smile. And suddenly I felt all manly and confident, like a handyman who knows just which nail to buy, and now I’m holding some of her bags, and she’s saying ‘thank you’ and then... there’s that moment. And it felt like a beginning. But the cabbie was impatient and I suppose we were just too British to say anything else... and then it was, ‘thanks,’ and that smile again. She closed the door, and I watched the cab move off, hope trailing and clattering on the ground behind it. And then I looked down. I had something in my hands. A small, plastic box. I read the words on the front. Single Use 35mm Disposable Camera.
show more

Review Text

"We loved this funny romance with a twist"
show more

Review quote

"Praise for Danny Wallace's laugh out loud debut novel Charlotte Street:

One of this year's coolest must-reads" * STYLIST * "Charlotte Street is charming, funny, romantic and quite adorable" * Jenny Colgan * "Full of funny observations" * HEAT * "We loved this funny romance with a twist" * CLOSER * "A brilliantly funny boy-meets-girl story" * MAIL ON SUNDAY *
show more

About Danny Wallace

Danny Wallace is a writer and television presenter, who wears glasses and used to have a cat. His first solo book, Join Me, was described as a 'word-of-mouth phenomenon' by The Bookseller and 'one of the funniest stories you will ever read' by the Daily Mail. His second book, Yes Man - in which he decided to say 'Yes' to everything - was a hugely successful film with Jim Carrey in the lead role. Danny has a regular column in Shortlist Magazine, reaching over 1.3 million readers weekly and was PPA's Columnist of the Year 2011. He has recently taken over as the full-time host of XFM Breakfast . Find out more about Danny at www.dannywallace.com
show more

Rating details

3,749 ratings
3.52 out of 5 stars
5 18% (665)
4 34% (1,286)
3 34% (1,288)
2 10% (389)
1 3% (121)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X