Charlie Changes Into a Chicken
5%
off

Charlie Changes Into a Chicken

4.51 (90 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Illustrated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

The first book in a hilarious new series for fans of Roald Dahl and David Walliams!

'Belly-busting hilarity' The Guardian

'The modern masterpiece . . . this savvy, comic tale ticks every box' The Daily Telegraph

'The best kind of silly' The Observer

_______

Charlie McGuffin has an incredible secret . . .

He can change into animals. All sorts of animals: a flea, a pigeon, even a rhino.

Trouble is, he can't decide when - it only happens when he gets worried. And right now, Charlie has quite a lot to worry about:

* His brother (who is in hospital)

* His parents (who are panicking about it)

* And the school bully (who has Charlie in his sights)

And even though every kid wants a superhero power, Charlie isn't keen on changing into a chicken in the middle of the school play.

So with the help of his three best friends, Charlie needs to find a way of dealing with his crazy new power - and fast!


Praise for Charlie Changes into a Chicken:

'Laugh-out-loud funny' The Mail on Sunday

'Cleverly daft storytelling at its very, very best' Maz Evans, author of Who Let The Gods Out?

'Full of heart and humour, wit and wisdom, and rivers of rhino poo' Sophie Anderson, author of The House with Chicken Legs

'Wonderfully heart-warming and absolutely hilarious' Catherine Doyle, author of The Storm Keeper's Island
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 18mm | 232g
  • PUFFIN
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • w. ills.
  • 0241346215
  • 9780241346211
  • 9,028

Review Text

The best kind of silly Observer
show more

Review quote

Fantastically ridiculous and silly in equal measures . . . will have readers snorting with giggles * The Northern Echo * An essential talent, full of the best of Roald Dahl and David Walliams * Elle (France) * For readers of about seven-plus, Sam Copeland's debut Charlie Changes Into a Chicken (Puffin) is a stand-out star, offering belly-busting hilarity and a loving, light touch take on childhood anxiety . . . A supportive cast of friends (fiendishly clever Flora in particular), subtly planted strategies for coping with worry, and some joyfully silly metanarrative tricks (including a publisher's letter of apology) place Charlie head and shoulders above the competition; Sarah Horne's wild-haired, twitch-eyed illustrations add another layer to the fun. * The Guardian * Gloriously silly, gleefully naughty and totally entertaining * Michelle Harrison, author of A Pinch of Magic * A brilliant debut . . . laugh-out-loud funny * The Mail on Sunday * A clever and hilarious story with a hero you'll love... I'm already looking forward to the next one * Parents In Touch * Charlie Changes Into a Chicken is a gloriously fun, madcap adventure with a celebration of friendship at its heart. * Anna James, author of Pages & Co: Tilly and the Book Wanderers * Very funny indeed. * Robin Stevens, author of the Murder Most Unladylike Series * This is a book that isn't what you expect, cleverly portraying ways of dealing with stress and anxiety..This is a brilliant and positive debut from Sam Copeland * Booktrust * An adventure of fantastical proportions.. a comic novel which fans of Kid Normal will flock to * The Irish Times * This really is one of the funniest, freshest debuts I've read in a long time. Delightfully silly and utterly heartfelt.. Comedy is hard to do right, but Copeland's enviable timing and knack for properly laugh-out-loud jokes set this apart. Charlie's experiences in animal form are comedy gold... it is just genius. A real delight and deserves to be huge. * The Bookseller * One of the most hyped children's debut of the decade.. Here is the modern masterpiece: a book that is full of laughs, while also exploring childhood anxiety.. This is a touching and engaging story. This savvy, comic tale ticks every box. * The Daily Telegraph * I laughed out loud at the part about yin and yang and win and wang. Oh, and the rhino poo - giant poo will never not be funny. * Lara Williamson, author of A Boy Called Hope and The Boy Who Sailed the Ocean * So good you'll CLUCK with laughter! * Pamela Butchart, author of Baby Aliens Got My Teacher * Brilliant, laugh-out-loud funny and genuinely moving * M.G. Leonard, author of Beetle Boy * In the words of Jean-Claude the pigeon, I am in love with this most delicious, beautiful and delectable book and I wish to fly away with it! * Laura Ellen Anderson, author of Amelia Fang and Witch Wars * Fresh and funny - this reads like a modern-day Dahl * Christopher Edge, author of The Many Worlds of Albie Bright * Laugh out loud funny, with an important underlying message on how to cope with anxiety * Abie Longstaff, author of How To Catch a Witch * Wonderfully heart-warming and absolutely hilarious * Cat Doyle, author of The Storm Keeper's Island * Full of heart and humour, wit and wisdom, and rivers of rhino poo * Sophie Anderson, author of The House With Chicken Legs * Hysterically funny! * Jeremy Strong, author of My Brother's Famous Bottom * Cleverly daft storytelling at its very, very best * Maz Evans, author of Who Let The Gods Out? * The best kind of silly * Observer *
show more

About Sam Copeland

Sam Copeland is from Manchester and now lives in London with two smelly cats, three smelly children and one relatively clean-smelling wife. He works as a chicken whisperer, travelling the world using his unique gift to tame wild chickens. Charlie Changes Into a Chicken is his first book. He has threatened to write more.
show more

Rating details

90 ratings
4.51 out of 5 stars
5 63% (57)
4 31% (28)
3 2% (2)
2 0% (0)
1 3% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X