Duskfall
19%
off

Duskfall : Book One of the Chaos Queen Quintet

3.74 (976 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-9 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

The start of a rich and gripping fantasy series of dark magic, oppression and rebellion perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn and Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time.

Stuck with arrows and close to death, a man is pulled from the icy waters of the Gulf of Nahl. As he is nursed back to health by a local fisherman, two things become very clear: he has no idea who he is, and he can kill a man with terrifying ease.
The fisherman is a tiellan, a race which has long been oppressed and grown wary of humans. His daughter, Winter, is a seemingly quiet young woman, but behind her placid mask she has her demons. She is addicted to frostfire - a substance that both threatens to destroy her and simultaneously gives her phenomenal power.
A young priestess, Cinzia, hears the troubling news of an uprising in her native city of Navone. Absconding from the cloistered life that she has kept for the last seven years, she knows she must make the long journey home. The flames of rebellion threatening her church and all that she believes in are bad enough, but far worse is the knowledge that the heretic who sparked the fire is her own sister.

These three characters may have set out on different paths, but fate will bring them together on one thrilling and perilous adventure.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 560 pages
  • 130 x 203 x 38mm | 367g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1783299150
  • 9781783299157
  • 669,323

Review Text

"The first book in the Chaos Queen Quintet starts with a bang and introduces Husberg's world to the reader in an interesting, plot-driven manner. " - Booklist

"This is a solid setup for a great new fantasy epic, perfect for fans of Daniel Abraham and Brandon Sanderson." -- Library Journal

"Duskfall is the Borne Identity for the fantasy crowd!...It is sure to quench the thirst of any reader who is looking for dark forces who vie for power and those who wish to fight against them!" Night Owl Reviews

"a must for any fantasy lover and is the one you have been waiting for." - SFReader

"The most engaging and satisfying fantasy book I have read in a very long time" - Impedimenta Magazine

"This novel is a perfect read for fans of Anne Rice, or J. R. R. Tolkien." - Bookaholic Banter

"Easy to become engrossed in" - Adventures In Poor Taste

"This novel reminded me a bit of Gail Z. Martin, Michael J. Sullivan, Courtney Schafer and Marc J. Turner. Just like these authors, Christopher Husberg has the ability to entertain his readers and move the story fluently forward." - Rising Shadow
show more

Review quote

"The first book in the Chaos Queen Quintet starts with a bang and introduces Husberg's world to the reader in an interesting, plot-driven manner. " - Booklist "This is a solid setup for a great new fantasy epic, perfect for fans of Daniel Abraham and Brandon Sanderson." -- Library Journal "Duskfall is the Borne Identity for the fantasy crowd!...It is sure to quench the thirst of any reader who is looking for dark forces who vie for power and those who wish to fight against them!" Night Owl Reviews "a must for any fantasy lover and is the one you have been waiting for." - SFReader "The most engaging and satisfying fantasy book I have read in a very long time" - Impedimenta Magazine "This novel is a perfect read for fans of Anne Rice, or J. R. R. Tolkien." - Bookaholic Banter "Easy to become engrossed in" - Adventures In Poor Taste "This novel reminded me a bit of Gail Z. Martin, Michael J. Sullivan, Courtney Schafer and Marc J. Turner. Just like these authors, Christopher Husberg has the ability to entertain his readers and move the story fluently forward." - Rising Shadow
show more

About Christopher Husberg

Christopher B. Husberg was born in Alaska and studied at Brigham Young University, where he went on to teach creative writing. His short story collection Look Me in the Stars received an honourable mention in the 2013 Utah Original Writing Competition. He lives with his wife in Lehi, Utah.
show more

Rating details

976 ratings
3.74 out of 5 stars
5 24% (234)
4 39% (379)
3 27% (259)
2 9% (86)
1 2% (18)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X