Categories and Concepts

Categories and Concepts : Theoretical Views and Inductive Data Analysis

4 (1 rating by Goodreads)
Edited by  , Edited by 

List price: US$80.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A book aimed at advanced undergraduates and graduates in cognitive science and artificial intelligence, linguistics, applied mathematics and data analysis. Facing a host of experiences in a complex world, an important human activity is to break up these activities into more manageable components - the process of categorization. Furthermore, the acquisition of concepts and categorical structures is a fundamental part of any learning process, and a significant part of any human communication consists of an exchange of categorical information. This book focuses on bringing together the cognitive research on categories and concepts and traditional classificatory data analysis - two major and intrinsically related scientific disciplines that study these topics. It provides an overview of today's most important cognitive-theoretical views on categories and concepts, and should be relevant to all interested in concepts in cognitive science, AI, linguistics, applied mathematics and data analysis. The classification of concepts and categories has been a key issue for cognitive psychologists and data analysists.
In this volume, the cognitive and data-analytic approaches are brought together for the first time. The book contains a state-of-the-art overview of current theoretical views on concepts and a tutorial introduction into data-analytic techniques to induce categories and category descriptions. It also reviews empirical evidence comparing these views and describes several applications.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 352 pages
  • 149.86 x 228.6 x 20.32mm | 476.27g
  • Academic Press Inc
  • San Diego, United States
  • English
  • 0127141758
  • 9780127141756

Table of contents

General introduction - purpose, underlying ideas and scope of the book, Iven Van Mechelen and Ryszard S. Michalski. Part 1 Theoretical views: psychological models of concepts - introduction, James Hampton and Daniele Dubois; concept, class and category in the tradition of Aristotle, J. Phil Sutcliffe; prototype models of concept representation, James Hampton; components of conceptual representation - from feature lists to recursive frames, Lawrence W. Barsalou and Christopher R. Hale; beyond prototypes and frames - the two-tiered concept representation, Ryszard S. Michalski; theories and concept formation, Gregory L. Murphy. Part 2 Inductive data-analysis: categories and concepts - introduction to data analysis, Hubert Fegber and Paul De Boeck; cluster analysis using proximities, Fionn d Murtagh; regression and discriminant analysis for analyzing judgements, Michael T. Brannick; the hierarchical classes approach - a review, Paul De Boeck, et al; Galois approach to the induction of concepts, Alain Guenoche and Iven Van Mechelen; using latent class analysis in categorization research, Geert De Soete; categories and concepts - theoretical views and inductive data analysis, Iven Van Mechelen, et al.
show more

Rating details

1 ratings
4 out of 5 stars
5 0% (0)
4 100% (1)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X