The Catastrophic History of You and Me

The Catastrophic History of You and Me

4.04 (14,208 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$17.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

An addictively page-turning debut for fans of "Before I Fall" and "The Fault in Our Stars." Brie is the "biggest, cheesiest, sappiest romantic" who believes that everyone will find their perfect someone, so when Jacob, the love of Brie's life, tells her he doesn't love her anymore, the news breaks her heart, "literally," and she dies. But now that she's D&G (dead and gone), Brie revisits the living world to discover that her family has begun to unravel and her best friend has been keeping an intimate secret about her boyfriend. Somehow, Brie must handle all of this while navigating through the five steps of grief with the help of Patrick, her mysterious bomber-jacketed guide to the afterlife. But how is she supposed to face the Ever After with a broken heart and no one to call her own? "This debut is a fast, twisty, highly dramatic read about the turbulent nature of love."--"Romantic Times " "Rothenberg explores what happens in the afterlife when you aren't quite done with your life."--"San Franscisco Chronicle " "The funniest, sweetest, most heartfelt, sigh-worthy and oh-so romantic story I've ever read. You'll love it!"--Cynthia Leitich Smith, "New York Times "bestselling author of "Eternal and Blessed"show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 375 pages
  • 142.24 x 215.9 x 40.64mm | 498.95g
  • Dial Books
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0803737203
  • 9780803737204
  • 639,625

Review quote

"This author has created a complex and intriguing story built around the afterlife. This is a good choice for fans of "Elsewhere" by Gabrielle Zevin or teens looking to get lost in a longer book."--VOYAshow more

About Jess Rothenberg

Jess Rothenberg grew up in Charleston, South Carolina, graduated from Vassar College, and spent most of her twenties editing books for teens and middle grade readers. She lives in Brooklyn, where she writes full-time, dances interpretively, and dreams of one day owning a sheepdog named Leo. "The Catastrophic History of You and Me" is her first novel. Visit her at jessrothenberg.comshow more

Rating details

14,208 ratings
4.04 out of 5 stars
5 41% (5,762)
4 33% (4,733)
3 18% (2,604)
2 5% (762)
1 2% (347)

Our customer reviews

By title alone, The Catastrophic History Of You & Me sounds like it should be full of drama and heartbreak that brings about the end of the world. I had high hopes after the first few pages, but after a while I started to wonder where the story was really going. While the heartbreak does lead to all of Brie's misfortunes, I feel like the story had too much sweetness to spend enough time with anything too deep. There were the frequent cutesy nickname-dropping and usual teenage girl idiosyncrasies, but if I take all that away and look more closely at the serious issues of family meltdown and self-destruction, the story seemed to have cookie-cut answers that did not do much for me. I expected something along the lines of before i fall, but this did not impress me as much despite all its fun sparkles.show more
by theEPICrat
I was lucky enough to get to read an ARC of TCHoY&M and unfortunately it only last a day. Wow! Never have 400 pages gone by so fast! When I first started it I knew I was in for a treat, when Brie ends up in a Pizza parlor while waiting to move on. I had a few Beatlejuice moments when she was was handed the D&G (Dead and Gone) handbook but this book is so totally unique that they were only flashes. I was constantly grabbing a tissue to blow my nose and wipe my eyes when only moments before I was laughing out loud. It was amazing at the range of emotions that Rothenberg took me through, much like the 5 stages of grief that Brie had to go through. The main characters, Brie and Patrick, were so very real and so likeable and one of my favorite things about the book was the music titles for each chapter. They really set the mood for each chapter and kind of gave you a hint of what was upcoming. And even though I don't listen to music while reading or writing, if I was to reread this book, I'd likely set up the playlist in the background. It's a sad romantic story that will make you think about your life, family, friends, and loves. It's a story that as a 14 year old I'd have stayed up all night reading and swore I was too sick to go to school the next day- "see mom, my eyes are so red and swollen"- just so I could finish it. As an adult, I simply stayed up all night and napped the next day. I look forward to reading more by this awesome author. Good job!show more
by Lisa Richards
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X