Catalyst

Catalyst

3.91 (811 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$10.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

For fans of Uglies and The Maze Runner comes a complex, thrill-filled love story that will make you question exactly what it means to be human In the past year Zel lost her father, the boy she loves, her safety, and any future she might have imagined for herself. Now she, her sister, and the band of genetic outcasts they've come to call their family are forced on the run when their safe house is attacked by men with neural guns. But on the way to a rumored haven in Chicago, Zel hears something--a whisper from Cy, the boy who traded himself for her sister's safety. And when she veers off plan in order to search for him, what she finds is not what she expected. There's more to their genetic mutations than they ever imagined...aspects that make them wonder if they might be accepted by the outside world after all.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 416 pages
  • 137 x 203 x 33mm | 363g
  • Penguin USA
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0147516048
  • 9780147516046
  • 707,892

Review quote

"Engrossing . . . [a] thought-provoking story."--Kirkus "Kang packs her plot with suspense and surprises as she explores good, evil, self-sacrifice, ambition, and what it means to be human."--VOYA "Fans of Control will be on edge with this electrifying followup. . . packed with action, breathtaking betrayals and heated romance. If you love sci-fi and strong female protagonists, this book is for you!"--RT Book Reviews
Praise for Control
"Control, with its mix of legitimate science and inventive fantasy, is unforgettable for all the right reasons."--VOYA "Imaginative cultural details (an ecstasy-like drug carried by sound) and impressive specificity regarding genetics. The use of mutants alone is fairly unique, making this a smart go-to for fans of Megan Shepherd's The Madman's Daughter."--Booklist "Control successfully integrates science, adventure, and romance into one unforgettable read. [It] will keep you wanting more until the jaw-dropping ending."--RT Book Reviews, Top Pick "Steamy, romantic. . .scrupulous attention to scientific detail adds authenticity."--Kirkus Reviews "A sweet, edgy romance rounds out this smart, futuristic medical thriller."--Publishers Weekly "Surprising twists, tender romance, and a fierce, smart protagonist make for a winning formula in Kang's debut. CONTROL is tautly woven and breathlessly delivered--a thrilling read!"--Jessica Khoury, author of Origin "Control blew me away, from the depth and richness of this fascinating, disturbing vision of the future--and all its technologies--to the twists and turns and suspense that made for a thrilling ride. Zel is as authentic a character as I've read in a very long time. Highly recommended."--James Dashner, New York Times bestselling author of The Maze Runner "Kang has skillfully blended a coming-of-age, dystopia YA fiction, and some heavy duty genetics. . . Kang is a physician in real life and her science is impressive."--Library Media Connection From the Hardcover edition.
show more

About Lydia Kang

Lydia Kang is a doctor who decided writing was maybe just as much fun as medicine, so, now she does both. She is the author of Control and Catalsyt. She lives with her husband and three children in Omaha, Nebraska. Visit her website www.lydiaykang.com and follow her on Twitter @lydiaYKang
show more

Rating details

811 ratings
3.91 out of 5 stars
5 31% (248)
4 39% (313)
3 24% (193)
2 6% (48)
1 1% (9)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X