Catalyst
17%
off

Catalyst

4.42 (2,549 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

S. J. Kincaid has created a fascinating dystopian world for Insignia, her futuristic science-fiction adventure series perfect for fans of Ender's Game. Earth is in the middle of WWIII, battling to determine which governments and corporations will control the resources of the solar system. Teen Tom Raines grew up with nothing, some days without even a roof over his head. Then his exceptional gaming skills earned him a spot in the Intrasolar Forces, the country's elite military training program, and his life completely changed. Now, in Catalyst, the explosive series conclusion, dangerous changes have come to the Pentagonal Spire, where Tom and his friends train. When a mysterious figure starts fighting against the evil corporations' horrifying plans, but with methods Tom finds shocking, he must decide which side he's on. With slim odds of success, is it even worth the fight?show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 419 pages
  • 144 x 210 x 36mm | 459.99g
  • KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS
  • United States
  • English
  • 0062093053
  • 9780062093059
  • 968,558

Review quote

Kincaid's Insignia series has proven science fiction worthy of comparison with Asimov. Readers will be spellbound as they inhale this last chapter.--Booklist (starred review)show more

Back cover copy

Tom Raines and his friends are eager to return to the Pentagonal Spire to continue their training for the elite Intrasolar Forces. They're in Upper Company now, vying for spots in CamCo, but soon discover troubling changes: strict new regulations, suspicious agents in positions of power, and the revelation that the Spire is under new military control. The trainees are now cadets. What begins as an irritating adjustment soon reveals a dangerous shift in reality. Those now in control are aligned with the corporate sponsors who have ruthless agendas. And when the military academy begins welcoming new cadets with questionable neural processors, the first step in a plan with horrifying worldwide ramifications, Tom is desperate to stop it, even if that means keeping secrets from his allies. Then a mysterious figure, the other ghost in the machine, begins a fight against the corporations, but with methods even Tom finds shocking. And when the enemy comes for Tom, how much can Tom endure in the battle to save himself? He must decide if he can still fight when the odds of success seem to be sliding from his grip. In this exhilarating, explosive, and heart-rending conclusion to the Insignia trilogy, Catalyst brings Tom and his intelligent, passionate, and brave young friends stunning tests and dangerous confrontations, and through to an impossible future they could never have predicted.show more
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X