The Castle Behind Thorns
22%
off

The Castle Behind Thorns

3.91 (1,163 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

This magical adventure set in an enchanted castle surrounded by thorns tells a tale of the power of memory and story, forgiveness and strength, and the true gifts of craft and imagination. By the acclaimed author of The Princess Curse and Handbook for Dragon Slayers, this original fantasy is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine, Karen Cushman, and Shannon Hale. When blacksmith apprentice Sand wakes up in a ruined castle, he has no idea how he got there, but the thorny brambles that surround the walls prevent him from leaving. As he begins to fix up the castle in order to survive, everything he touches somehow works better than it should. Then, as he continues to explore, Sand discovers the castle's secrets, including its long lost heir, Perrotte. Together they must fully repair the broken castle if they ever want to leave.show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Hardback | 327 pages
  • 144.78 x 208.28 x 35.56mm | 430.91g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • black & white illustrations
  • 0062008196
  • 9780062008190
  • 849,924

Review quote

A warm and lovely story about friendship, magic, the long shadow of the past, and blacksmithing. --Robin McKinley, Newbery Medalist author of THE HERO AND THE CROWN and THE BLUE SWORD"show more

Back cover copy

Stories don't know everything. When Sand wakes up alone in a long-abandoned castle, he has no idea how he got there. The stories all said the place was ruined by an earthquake, and Sand did not expect to find everything inside torn in half or smashed to bits. Nothing lives here and nothing grows, except the vicious, thorny bramble that holds Sand prisoner. Why wasn't this in the stories? To survive, Sand does what he knows best--he fires up the castle's forge to mend what he needs. But the things he fixes work somehow better than they ought to. Is there magic in the mending? Or have the saints who once guarded this place returned? When Sand finds the castle's lost heir, Perrotte, they begin to untwine the dark secrets that caused the destruction. Putting together the pieces--of stone and iron, and of a broken life--is harder than Sand ever imagined, but it's the only way to regain their freedom. With gorgeous language and breathtaking magic, Merrie Haskell's The Castle Behind Thorns tells of the power of memory, story, forgiveness, and the true gifts of craft and imagination.show more
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X