The Case of the Screaming Beauty

The Case of the Screaming Beauty

3.6 (215 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The prestigious Lavender Bed and Breakfast in Chiddlinghurst, England has a rich, Tudor atmosphere, an enviously manicured lawn... And a deadly problem. A young, beautiful woman, Norah Travis, has been found murdered in one of the rooms with no witnesses and seemingly no motive. Detective Inspector Graham, a man with a singular drive, a penchant for tea, and silent demons of his own, has been brought in to ferret out the perpetrator. Joining Sergeant Harris at the sprawling estate, the duo set their caps to solving a mystery that leaves them frustrated. It's a "whodunit" of crafty design with suspects on all sides and nothing clear cut. The proprietors, Amelia and Cliff, have jokes to share and almost nothing to hide, while their long time guest, Tim, seems shiftier. There is an ex-husband, a housekeeper, an old man, and questions galore. But who could it be? It's a conundrum. "The Case of the Screaming Beauty" is a modern murder mystery with an old fashioned feel; a story for fans of Sherlock Holmes, Agatha Christie, and CSI. Enjoy! Interview with the Creator of the series Q - So, what makes the Inspector David Graham series special? A - When I set out to write these books, I wanted to create something that played like a movie in the reader's mind. They are books with action, but also soul. They are ensemble pieces containing regular characters that are well drawn with strong personalities, humor and some tragedy. The Inspector David Graham books feel, to me, like good friends that never let me down. Every time we sit down to plan the books, I love to find out what the characters are going to get up to next! The Inspector David Graham books are a great mix of genres. They sit firmly in the cozy mystery category and are set on the beautiful island of Jersey in the English Channel between Britain and France. They feature a British detective who is part-Sherlock Holmes, part-Poirot, and, of course, uniquely himself. Q - In what order should I read the books? The Inspector David Graham cozy mysteries can be read, and enjoyed, in any order. "The Case of the Screaming Beauty" is a prequel to the other books in the series and, unlike the later books, is set on the mainland. All the books are complete mysteries. I've made sure not to include any spoilers for those who are new to the characters and any existing fans of Graham's adventures will still find plenty of fresh action and mystery as well as perhaps a few answers. All in all, there is something for everyone. The events in this prequel take place a few weeks before "The Case of the Hidden Flame, " the first book in the Inspector David Graham series of cozy mysteries. If you do want to read them in order, I'd suggest the following sequence: "The Case of the Screaming Beauty" (prequel) "The Case of the Hidden Flame" "The Case of the Fallen Hero (coming soon)" Q - Why should readers give these books a try? A - Because the Inspector Graham series is a gentle, but colorful romp through the wealthy but isolated English island, a place that is picturesque and peaceful but one filled with amoral and snobbish eccentrics with all kinds of vices. Graham is a complex character who is intriguing from the get-go and yet evolves throughout the series while his sidekicks are worthy, interesting characters in their own right. We feature many English countryside rituals, institutions and customs in these stories. Thanks for reading! Inspector David Graham Book Categories Cozy Mysteries Mystery Series British Detectives Small Town Mysteries Humorous Cozy Mysteries Traditional British International Mystery and Crimeshow more

Product details

  • Paperback | 152 pages
  • 127 x 203 x 9mm | 177g
  • Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • United States
  • English
  • black & white illustrations
  • 1514750961
  • 9781514750964

Rating details

215 ratings
3.6 out of 5 stars
5 21% (46)
4 37% (80)
3 28% (60)
2 7% (15)
1 7% (14)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X