A Case of Doubtful Death
35%
off

A Case of Doubtful Death : A Frances Doughty Mystery

3.72 (114 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The year is 1880. In West London, a dedicated doctor has set up a waiting mortuary on the borders of Kensal Green Cemetery, where corpses are left to decompose before burial to reassure clients that no one can be buried alive. When he collapses and dies on the same night that one of his most reliable employees disappears, Frances Doughty, a young sleuth with a reputation for solving knotty cases, is engaged to find the missing man, but nothing is as it seems. In this, her third case, Frances Doughty must rely on her wit, courage and determination - as well as some loyal friends - to solve the case. Suspicions of blackmail, fraud and murder lead to a gruesome exhumation in the catacombs, with shocking results. The third book in the popular Frances Doughty Mystery series.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 124 x 194 x 28mm | 300g
  • The History Press Ltd
  • Stroud, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0752470183
  • 9780752470184
  • 639,133

About Linda Stratmann

Linda Stratmann is the author of "Chloroform: The Quest for Oblivion" and twoprevious titles in the Frances Doughty Mysteries "The Poisonous Seed "and "The Daughters of Gentlemen.""show more

Review quote

. . . The pace moves along well and [Stratmann s] dry wit that is expressed through conversation among the characters is most entertaining. "Joseph's Reviews""show more

Rating details

114 ratings
3.72 out of 5 stars
5 26% (30)
4 36% (41)
3 26% (30)
2 7% (8)
1 4% (5)

Our customer reviews

This was my first encounter with Frances Doughty, and I liked her a lot. I have a taste for unconventional female protagonists, and, as a female Victorian detective with a rather imposing female assistant, our starring detective lives a life outside the norm. Somewhere between a light and medium-light read, the story is enjoyable and the pacing fantastic. There WERE a lot of mysteries to be solved, but I rather enjoyed the knottiness. Perfect for fans of Poirot and Christie who like a good mystery. 3.5 out of 5 starsshow more
by Julie Smith
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X