Caraval
20%
off

Caraval

4.32 (1,212 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Instant New York Times bestseller #1 IndieNext Pick Entertainment Weekly Must List (Grade: A-) Whatever you've heard about Caraval, it doesn't compare to the reality. It's more than just a game or a performance. It's the closest you'll ever find to magic in this world . . . Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett's father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over. But this year, Scarlett's long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval's mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season's Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner. Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever. Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . beware of getting swept too far away. "The Hunger Games meets The Night Circus. Grade: A-." --EW "Spellbinding." --US Weekly "Magnificent." --Publishers Weekly, starred review "I lost myself in this world." --Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes "Beautifully written." --Renee Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn "Shimmers with magic." --Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner's Curse "Darkly enchanting." --Kiersten White, author of And I Darken "Decadent." --Roshani Chokshi, author of The Star-Touched Queen "Like stepping into a living dream." --Stacey Lee, author of Outrun the Moon "Destined to capture imaginations." --Kirkus Reviews "Ideal for fans of The Night Circus, Stardust, and The Hunger Games." --SLJshow more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 407 pages
  • 160 x 239 x 38mm | 621g
  • Flatiron Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250095255
  • 9781250095251
  • 1,104

About Stephanie Garber

Stephanie Garber loves Disneyland because it s the one place on earth where she feels as if the fantastical stories she loves to write about could actually come to life. When she's not writing young adult fantasy, she teaches creative writing at a private college in northern California, where she s known for turning assignments into games and taking students on field trips that involve book signings. Caraval is her first novel for young adults. She would love to hear from you on social media."show more

Review quote

Instant New York Times Bestseller #1 IndieNext Pick Entertainment Weekly's Must List (Grade: A-) An Amazon Best Book of the Month An iBooks Best Book of the Month "Caraval is The Night Circus Jr., with a dash of Alice in Wonderland and a sprinkle of Fantasy Island. If blood and madness, 'shameless curves and immoral promises' entice you, well, come to the cabaret." --The New York Times Book Review "The Hunger Games meets The Night Circus in this tale of two sisters enmeshed in a deadly game. Grade: A-" --Entertainment Weekly "Spellbinding." --US Weekly "A magnificent debut, and a spellbinding tale of love, loss, sacrifice, and hope." --Publishers Weekly, starred review "This twisty, terrifically fun page-turner is ideal for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, Neil Gaiman's Stardust, and fantasy novels where relationships between sisters drive the plot, such as The Hunger Games. VERDICT: A must-have fantasy debut for high school collections." --School Library Journal "Caraval sweeps you into a treacherous and romantic world that takes center stage in this story of two sisters and their longing for more." --Justine "A spellbinding tale of sisterhood, love and betrayal. I lost myself in this dangerous, enchanting world--and never wanted to come out." --Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Ember In the Ashes and A Torch in the Night "Enchanting and mysterious, Stephanie Garber's Caraval is a story rich with sumptuous detail, beautifully written." --Renee Ahdieh, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn "Caraval shimmers with magic. This is an inventive, delightful tale with several aces up its sleeve." --Marie Rutkoski, New York Times bestselling author of the Winner's Trilogy "In a book where nothing is at it appears, one thing is certain: Caraval is the darkly enchanting adventure you've been looking for!" --Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken and Paranormalcy "A decadent and enchanting tale. Caraval will sink its teeth into you, and you will not want to leave." --Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen "A tale of sisterly devotion painted in colors of cerise and shimmering gold. If you ever wondered how it would feel to step into a living dream, here's your ticket." --Stacey Lee, critically acclaimed author of Outrun the Moon "Stephanie Garber doesn't just dazzle--she makes me believe." --Jodi Meadows, New York Times bestselling coauthor of My Lady Jane "Caraval delights the senses: beautiful and scary, described in luscious prose, this is a show readers will wish they could enter. A double love story, one sensual romance and the other sisterly loyalty, anchors the plot, but the real star here is Caraval and its secrets. Immersive and engaging . . . destined to capture imaginations." --Kirkus Reviews "An enchanting mix of mystery, romance, and magic, this immerses readers in its gorgeous setting with lush prose. The setting is a captivating blend of beauty and danger . . . the chemistry between Scarlett and Julian is intoxicating. Readers will want a return ticket to this one." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Rich, vivid scene-setting and descriptions make for entertaining reading . . . a colorful, imaginative fantasy with some steamy romance for good measure." --ALA Booklistshow more
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X