Captain

Captain

3.69 (69 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$16.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

It's 1915 and British troops are about to sail to Gallipoli. Billy is the youngest soldier in his platoon and is teased for not being old enough to drink or shave. The truth is, at fifteen he's not old enough to be a soldier, either, and he's terrified of the war he's about to fight.

Then he meets Captain, a refugee boy, and his donkey, Hey-ho. Together they teach Billy what it means to be brave, loyal, and fearless, and above all what it means to be a friend.

Sam Angus pulls at heartstrings in this stirring wartime friendship story.
show more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Hardback | 240 pages
  • 147 x 213 x 23mm | 318g
  • New York
  • English
  • 1250061377
  • 9781250061379
  • 2,821,527

Review quote

"The tight, powerful writing is reminiscent of Michael Morpurgo's war novels--gritty but not gory. . . this is an important look at war and true friendship that should have a place in most collections."--School Library Journal


." . . the friendship between Billy and Captain affectingly rendered. As with Angus' previous war narratives, Soldier Dog (2013) and A Horse Called Hero (2014), this book is perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo, or for those who enjoy animal stories with historical settings."--Booklist
show more

About Sam Angus

Sam Angus grew up in Spain. She studied literature at Trinity College in Cambridge and taught English before becoming a ski wear designer. She's also the author of Soldier Dog and A Horse Called Hero. She divides her time between London and Exmoor with her children, horses, and dogs.
show more

Rating details

69 ratings
3.69 out of 5 stars
5 28% (19)
4 36% (25)
3 20% (14)
2 10% (7)
1 6% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X