Call Nurse Millie
10%
off

Call Nurse Millie

4.33 (286 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

Description

'A delightful, well researched story that really does depict nursing and the living conditions in the East End at the end of the war' Lesley Pearse

'Jean Fullerton's saga will delight her growing legion of fans' Dilly Court

Can she deliver the hope they need?

London is putting itself back together and twenty-five-year-old Millie is at the forefront of the effort as she tends to the East End community around her.

While she witnesses tragedy and brutality in her job, Millie also finds strength and kindness as her training begins to pay off, helping her to bring her patients back to health and welcome babies into the world. But it's not only the patients that need Millie as matters of the heart bring both tears and joy for the young nurses.

With grit and gumption, Millie and her friends do their best to find their way through first loves and heartbreaks, and balancing their duty of care with looking after each other. But when misfortune befalls her own family, it is the enduring spirit of the community that shows Millie that even the toughest of circumstances can be overcome.

A heartwarming and gritty saga set in post-War London, perfect for fans of Ellie Dean, Donna Douglas and Call the Midwife
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 128 x 196 x 28mm | 300g
  • Orion
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1398704547
  • 9781398704541

Review quote

A delightful, well researched story that really does depict nursing and the living conditions in the East End at the end of the war -- Lesley Pearse ..the characters are well rounded, the period and political details evoke nostalgia, and the patient's stories are convincingly and vividly told... The writing shines off the page and begs for a sequel * HISTORICAL NOVELS SOCIETY * Charming and full of detail about the work of a nurse in 1940s London, you will ride emotional highs and lows with each new birth and death. Beautifully written with some sharp dialogue * THE LADY * Warmth, humour and characters readers care about, are Fullerton's hallmarks. * PETERBOROUGH EVENING TELEGRAPH * A delightful, well researched story that really does depict nursing and the living conditions in the East End at the end of the war -- Lesley Pearse ...the characters are well rounded, the period and political details evoke nostalgia, and the patient's stories are convincingly and vividly told... The writing shines off the page and begs for a sequel * Historical Novel Society * Warmth, humour and characters readers care about, are Fullerton's hallmarks. * PETERBOROUGH EVENING TELEGRAPH * Charming and full of detail about the work of a nurse in 1940s London, you will ride emotional highs and lows with each new birth and death. Beautifully written with some sharp dialogue * THE LADY *
show more

About Jean Fullerton

Jean Fullerton is the author of seven historical novels. She is a qualified District and Queen's nurse who has spent most of her working life in the East End of London, first as a Sister in charge of a team, and then as a District Nurse tutor. She is also a qualified teacher and spent twelve years lecturing on community nursing studies at a London university. She now writes full-time.

Find out more at www.jeanfullerton.com
show more

Rating details

286 ratings
4.33 out of 5 stars
5 53% (152)
4 33% (94)
3 10% (29)
2 2% (5)
1 2% (6)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X