The Cabinet
17%
off
17%
off

The Cabinet

3.61 (1,108 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Translated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-9 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Winner of the Munhakdongne Novel Award, South Korea's most prestigious literary prize


Cabinet 13 looks exactly like any normal filing cabinet. Except this cabinet is filled with files on the 'symptomers', people whose weird abilities and bizarre experiences might just mark the emergence of a new species.

But to Mr Kong, the harried office worker who spends his days looking after the cabinet, the symptomers are just a headache; from the woman whose doppelganger broke up with her boyfriend, to the man with a ginkgo tree growing from his fingertip. And then there's that guy who won't stop calling, asking to be turned into a cat...

A richly funny and fantastical novel about the strangeness at the heart of even the most ordinary lives, from one of South Korea's most acclaimed novelists.

Translated by Sean Lin Halbert

File Under: Fiction [ 12,000 Cans of Beer | Memory Mosaicers | Will Execution Inc. | Monkey of All Bombs ]
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 135 x 216 x 25.4mm | 317.51g
  • Angry Robot
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New edition
  • New edition
  • 0857669176
  • 9780857669179
  • 50,059

Review quote

"[A] brilliant mosaic novel...These stories straddle the lines between science fiction, fantasy, fairy tale, and acute reality." "Un-su Kim is a tremendous writer" "Showcases his sly, surreal, dark humor about all the ways humans are, well, not particularly human." "This charming and fantastical book is sure to introduce Kim to a whole new legion of weird fiction fans, ideal for readers of Han Kang's The Vegetarian and the works of Haruki Murakami." "Kim deftly juggles both macro-level and micro-level ideas about social roles, purpose, and personal narrative." "What begins as a rather whimsical set of stories turns into a much darker novel, raising issues of difference and acceptance, what people must do to survive, and what is truly monstrous." "Surprising and enchanting" "comic, heartbreaking and terrifying."
show more

About Un-su Kim

Un-Su Kim was born in 1972 in Busan and is the author of several highly praised novels. He has won the Munhakdongne Novel Prize, Korea's most prestigious literary prize, and was nominated for the 2016 Grand Prix de la Litterature Policiere. He lives in Jinhae-gu, South Korea.
show more

Rating details

1,108 ratings
3.61 out of 5 stars
5 14% (158)
4 44% (488)
3 32% (353)
2 8% (91)
1 2% (18)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X