C.Hubert H.Parry

C.Hubert H.Parry : His Life and Music

4.33 (3 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$105.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Sir Hubert Parry was one of Britain's most creative and influential musicians, and a key architect of the English Musical Renaissance. This is a reappraisal of Parry, both of his life and his vast legacy of compositions. Well known for three enduringly popular works - Blest Pair of Sirens, I Was Glad, and Jerusalem, almost an unofficial national anthem - Parry has long been presented as a paternal, establishment figure, an image reinforced by a number of popular photographs. Yet Parry's personality was infinitely more complex, as Jeremy Dibble makes clear. Drawing on a wealth of documentary evidence made available for the first time, he presents a portrait of a radical, energetic, yet hypersensitive and lonely man, locked in an unhappy marriage, and in fact a living contradiction of the stereotypical Victorian gentleman. In the course of this the composer's relationships and friendships, his beliefs, and interactions wth other composers emerge with clarity. Dibble also charts Parry's development as a composer, and presents a detailed examination of his works illustrated with a number of musical examples.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 570 pages
  • 150 x 230 x 40mm | 1,180g
  • Oxford University Press
  • Clarendon Press
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0193153300
  • 9780193153301

Table of contents

Part 1 1848-1872 - the early years: antecendents and childhood; Eton; Oxford; London and marriage. Part 2 1872-1886 - years of struggle: Dannreuther - emancipation; stylistic experimentation; "Prometheus Unbound" - depression and resolve; Grove and the Royal College of Music; "Guenever" - despair and bitterness. Part 3 1887-1897 - years of reason: "Blest Pair of Sirens" - national prominence; dilemma - the response to public demand; climax - directorhip of the Royal College of Music. Part 4 1889-1918 - decline: knighthood - philosophical introspections, the "ethical" Oratorio; breakdown in health - resignation; Indian summer - symphonic renewal; war, sadness and death. Appendices: genealogical tree; list of works.show more

Rating details

3 ratings
4.33 out of 5 stars
5 33% (1)
4 67% (2)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X