By Light Alone
31%
off

By Light Alone

3.21 (638 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In a world where we have been genetically engineered so that we can photosynthesise sunlight with our hair, hunger is a thing of the past, food an indulgence. The poor grow their hair, the rich affect baldness and flaunt their wealth by still eating. But other hungers remain ...The young daughter of an affluent New York family is kidnapped. The ransom demands are refused. A year later a young woman arrives at the family home claiming to be their long lost daughter. She has changed so much, she has lived on light, can anyone be sure that she has come home? Adam Roberts' new novel is yet another amazing melding of startling ideas and beautiful prose. Set in a New York of the future it nevertheless has echoes of a Fitzgeraldesque affluence and art-deco style. It charts his further progress as one of the most important writers of his generation.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 130 x 198 x 30mm | 280g
  • Orion Publishing Co
  • Gollancz
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0575083662
  • 9780575083660
  • 283,189

Review quote

In the tradition of Swift, Orwell and Atwood--THE TIMESshow more

About Adam Roberts

Adam Roberts is Professor of 19th-century literature at London University. His novels, SALT, GRADISIL and YELLOW BLUE TIBIA have all been shortlisted for the ARTHUR C. CLARKE AWARD. His novel Jack Glass won both the BSFA and John W. Campbell awards for best novel. He has also published a number of academic works on both 19th-century poetry and SF.show more

Rating details

638 ratings
3.21 out of 5 stars
5 11% (70)
4 32% (204)
3 32% (203)
2 18% (115)
1 7% (46)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X