By Any Means Necessary
15%
off

By Any Means Necessary

3.89 (155 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

On the day Torrey moves and officially becomes a college freshman, he gets a call that might force him to drop out before he's even made it through orientation: the bank is foreclosing on the bee farm his Uncle Miles left him.

Torrey's worked hard to become the first member of his family to go to college, but while the neighbourhood held him back emotionally, Uncle Miles encouraged him to reach his full potential. For years, it was just the two of them tending the farm. So Torrey can't let someone erase his uncle's legacy without a fight.

He tries balancing his old life in L.A. with his new classes, new friends, and (sort of) new boyfriend in San Francisco, but as the farm heads for auction, the pressure of juggling everything threatens to tear him apart. Can he make a choice between his family and his future without sacrificing a part of himself?
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 149 x 214 x 28mm | 498g
  • Essex, United States
  • English
  • 1624147992
  • 9781624147999
  • 54,108

Review quote

"Readers will fall in love with this honest novel, which will instruct them to employ self-care and live their best lives." --School Library Journal

"Through Torrey's struggles and vibrant, first-person voice, Montgomery (Home and Away) sheds light on larger social issues... Rather than providing pat answers to complicated problems, this contemporary coming-of-age novel raises essential questions to ponder." --Publishers Weekly

"A fresh take on gentrification and the impact it has on both individuals and community." --Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Home and Away:

Kirkus Reviews Best YA Mystery of 2018
B&N Teen Blog Best YA of 2018
Paste Magazine Best YA of 2018

"A love letter to the intricacies of family and multitudinous black girlhood." --Kirkus Reviews, starred

"VERDICT Fans of Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon will enjoy this gripping story of the love, family, and forgiveness." --School Library Journal

"Debut author Montgomery pulls no punches. A great pick for fans of Brandy Colbert." --Booklist

"A stunning tapestry of texture and culture." --Nic Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

"Through every laugh and wiped-away tear, you'll wish you were friends with Tasia Quirk." --Emery Lord, award-winning author of When We Collided

"Poetic, honest, and trope-defying, this book is an emotional touchdown." --Lily Anderson, author of Undead Girl Gang

"Get ready to meet your new favorite YA heroine in Taze, and your new favorite YA voice in Candice Montgomery." --Dahlia Adler, author of Just Visiting
show more

About Candice Montgomery

Candice Montgomery is an LA transplant now residing in Seattle. By day, she writes YA lit about Black teens across all their intersections. By night, she teaches dance and works in The Tender Bar. Her debut Home and Away (Page Street, 2018) was named a Kirkus Reviews best YA novel of 2018.
show more

Rating details

155 ratings
3.89 out of 5 stars
5 32% (49)
4 35% (54)
3 27% (42)
2 5% (7)
1 2% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X