But Then I Came Back
25%
off

But Then I Came Back

3.89 (67 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Gayle Forman meets Francesca Lia Block in this dazzling story about two coma girls and the boy who connects their lives. From the author of This Raging Light, a debut that New York Times bestselling author Morgan Matson calls "remarkable." "Something does exist. I saw. It's a place. Like this but different." "Okay, so let's say we do reach her, that something like that is even possible. Then what?" "Then we ask her to come back." Eden: As far as coma patients go, Eden's lucky. She woke up. But still, she can't shake the feeling that she might have dragged something back from the near-afterlife. Joe: Joe visits the hospital every day, hoping that Jaz, his lifelong friend, will wake up. More than anything, he wants to hear her voice again. But he's not sure anyone can reach her. Eden & Joe: Even though she knows it sounds crazy, Eden tells Joe that they might be able to talk to Jaz. Opening themselves up to the great unknown--and each other--Eden and Joe experience life: mysterious and scary, beautiful and bright.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 310 pages
  • 140 x 213 x 33mm | 431g
  • HOUGHTON MIFFLIN
  • United States
  • English
  • 0544531264
  • 9780544531260
  • 1,157,609

Review quote

*-Rendered with insight and compassion, Eden's struggles to make peace with the human condition add up to a riveting coming-of-age story.- --Kirkus, starred review -Laure creates an intriguing blend of realism and the unknowable in her sophomore novel. . . . Eden is simultaneously tough and fragile, and her struggle to figure out what her life should look like is compelling.- --Publishers Weekly -the romantic and thoughtful story of Eden Jones, a 17-year-old dancer. . . . the appeal lies in Eden's original, creative, and thought-provoking first-person (mostly) narrative. Fans of the first title will be happy to see Lucille through Eden's eyes, but this companion novel stands solidly alone.- --Booklist -But Then I Came Back is a hauntingly beautiful dreamscape of sense, memory, fate, magic, and love. If you love mystical stories with sumptuously lyrical writing and characters who take up residence in your heart, this book is for you. In prose that shimmers like sunlight on water and sings like a ballad, Estelle Laure weaves a devastatingly beautiful tale of memory, fate, friendship, and love. Fans of Jandy Nelson and A.S. King take note.- -Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King -But Then I Came Back is magical and illuminating, lovely and lyrical. Laure's examination of loss and longing, of saying goodbye to the past so you can say hello to the future, is a story you don't want to miss.- -Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces -Much like Laure's writing, Eden's story is haunting and raw. You will root for her as she struggles through her new reality and fall with her as she finds love.- -Goldy Moldavsky, author of Kill the Boy Band Praise for This Raging Light Winter 2015-2016 Kids' Indie Next Pick! -Her first-person narration is lyrical, akin to that of a Francesca Lia Block character, but there's an undercurrent of roughness in her voice... heartbreakingly hopeful, lyrically told...- --Kirkus -Estelle Laure's prose is utterly gorgeous, even as it lays out the story of a girl dealing with the failings of her parents, death, and her own insecurities.- --BookRiot -Estelle Laure's This Raging Light might be YA, but it's got plenty of grown-up appeal.- --entertainmentweekly.com -Laure's debut stands out for her keen understanding of the spectrum of human emotions, and her ability to put tough feelings into beautiful prose.- --Horn Book -In an assured debut, Laure gives Lucille a fierce stubbornness that keeps her going. . . The characters are well drawn, and Laure effectively depicts the adrenaline rush of love.- --Publishers Weekly -This Raging Light is a funny, heartwrenching, and soulful read as Lucille develops her own personal family, bloodline or not. It's not one you'll soon forget.- --Bustle -Lucille's fresh, first-person voice spills over with metaphor, poetically capturing her emotional landscape with force and fury, frantic love and absolute exhaustion.- --Shelf Awareness -Laure's debut is brilliant and not to be missed.- --RT Book Reviews -Lucille may not take down a beast or assassinate any super bads, but she's what heroines look like and love like in real life.- --Justine magazine -[a] poetic, heartbreaking read that will resonate with teens.- --BookPage online -The narrative rings authentic, especially as Lucille wrestles with romantic pangs. Thankfully, there's enough wry humor to balance the worry and poignancy. Above all, you'll love steadfast Lucille and keep caring about what comes next.- --Atlanta Journal Constitution -Lucille is a steel-strong, deeply human heroine fighting against impossible odds.- --BNTEENblog -Readers will be seduced by the love affair budding between Digby and Lucille as much as she is. The characters are believably flawed, but eminently likeable, leaving the reader with hope for humanity.- --Montana Public Radio -Laure's debut stands out for her keen understanding of the spectrum of human emotions, and her ability to put tough feelings into beautiful prose.- --Horn Book -Bursting with feeling, like a seventies pop song, Estelle Laure's This Raging Light should be read at a feverish clip and then passed on to your favorite friend.- --Campus Circle -I loved this book. I was torn between wanting to devour it in one breathless read and needing to stop and savor each gorgeous turn of phrase. This is a remarkable debut.- --Morgan Matson, author of Amy & Roger's Epic Detour and Since You've Been Gone -This Raging Light is a funny, poetic, big-hearted reminder that life can--and will--take us all by surprise sometimes.- --Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight and The Geography of You and Me -Estelle Laure writes with power and lyricism--but more than that, she writes honestly from the heart. Definitely a writer to watch!- --A.M. Jenkins, Printz Honor winning author of Repossessed -With This Raging Light, Estelle Laure establishes herself as a literary heavyweight. Laure's characters mimic her writing, at once visceral and brave, unafraid to confront love in its every facet--surprising, surpassing, flawed. This book is a thick quilt in a cold room, and I want to wrap myself in it.- --David Arnold, author of Mosquitoland -[Laure] has a raw, authentic voice and a passion for storytelling.- --Matt de la Pena, Pura Belpree honoree and award-winning YA novelist of The Living and Mexican WhiteBoyshow more

Rating details

67 ratings
3.89 out of 5 stars
5 30% (20)
4 40% (27)
3 19% (13)
2 10% (7)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X