Burning Midnight
20%
off

Burning Midnight

3.6 (1,412 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

For fans of The Maze Runner and The 5th Wave, this debut YA novel from Hugo Award-winner Will McIntosh pits four teens against an evil billionaire in the race of a lifetime.

Sully is a sphere dealer at a flea market. It doesn't pay much - Alex Holliday's stores have muscled out most of the independent sellers - but it helps him and his mum make the rent. No one knows where the brilliant-coloured spheres came from. One day they were just there, hidden all over the earth like huge gemstones. Burn a pair and they make you a little better: an inch taller, skilled at maths, better-looking. The rarer the sphere, the greater the improvement - and the more expensive the sphere.

When Sully meets Hunter, a girl with a natural talent for finding spheres, the two start searching together. What they find will change more than just their lives . . . Because the entire world fights over spheres, but no one knows why they're here or what their powers are . . . until now.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 130 x 197 x 20mm | 235g
  • MACMILLAN CHILDREN'S BOOKS
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main Market Ed.
  • 1509803564
  • 9781509803569
  • 253,883

Review Text

Burning Midnight has an inventive plot, unlike any other YA sci-fi you'll have read. The book's best asset is its pace. Once it gets going, it goes hard, and the action sequences are breathlessly cinematic. SFX Magazine
show more

Review quote

Burning Midnight has an inventive plot, unlike any other YA sci-fi you'll have read. The book's best asset is its pace. Once it gets going, it goes hard, and the action sequences are breathlessly cinematic. SFX Magazine
show more

About Will McIntosh

Will McIntosh's debut novel, Soft Apocalypse, was a finalist for both a Locus Award and the John W. Campbell Memorial Award. He is a frequent contributor to Asimov's, where his story 'Bridesicle' won the 2010 Readers' Award, as well as the 2010 Hugo Award for Best Short Story. His third novel, Love Minus Eighty (based on 'Bridesicle'), was named best Science Fiction novel of the year by the American Library Association and was optioned for film by Film4. His other novels include Defenders, optioned by Warner Brothers for a feature film, and the YA novel Burning Midnight.

Will was a psychology professor for two decades before turning to writing full-time. He lives in Williamsburg with his family.
show more

Rating details

1,412 ratings
3.6 out of 5 stars
5 16% (229)
4 40% (562)
3 33% (471)
2 9% (128)
1 2% (22)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X